SF Bay Area Nanotechnology Council


Nanoengineered Devices for Thermal Management and Solar Thermal Energy Conversion

Tuesday April 21, 2015
Noon – 1  pm
Texas Instruments (TI) Auditorium E-1
2900 Semiconductor Drive
Santa Clara, CA




TITLE: Nanoengineered Devices for Thermal Management and Solar Thermal Energy Conversion

SPEAKER: Dr. Evelyn N. Wang, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering, MIT

Nanoengineered surfaces offer new possibilities to manipulate fluidic and thermal transport processes for a variety of applications including lab-on-a-chip, thermal management, and energy conversion systems. In this talk, I will first discuss how nanoengineered surfaces can be used to control wetting and bubble/droplet behavior for high flux heat dissipation of electronics. These surfaces can enhance both boiling and condensation heat transfer in two-phase pumped cooling systems. In the second half of the talk, I will discuss the opportunities with nanoengineered surfaces to increase efficiency in solar thermophotovoltaic (STPV) devices. The use of such surfaces allows us to engineer the spectral properties and to define the active area of the emitter with respect to the absorber. These studies provide insights into the complex physical processes underlying heat-structure interactions and offer a path to achieving increased efficiency in next generation thermal management and energy devices.

Evelyn N. Wang is an Associate Professor in the Mechanical Engineering Department at MIT. She received her BS from MIT in 2000 and MS and PhD from Stanford University in 2001, and 2006, respectively. From 2006-2007, she was a postdoctoral researcher at Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent. Her research interests include fundamental studies of micro/nanoscale heat and mass transport and the development of efficient thermal management, water desalination, and solar thermal energy systems. Her work has been honored with awards including the 2008 DARPA Young Faculty Award, the 2011 Air Force Office of Scientific Research Young Investigator Award, the 2012 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award, the 2012 ASME Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer, as well as best paper awards at 2010 and 2014 ITherm and 2012 ASME Micro and Nanoscale Heat and Mass Transfer International Conference.


  • 11:30 am – Registration & light lunch (pizza & drinks)
  • Noon – Presentation & Questions/Answers
  • 1:00 pm – Adjourn


Comments are closed.