IEEE Baltimore Section



The Baltimore Section


Baltimore Section Announcements

IEEE Power Electronics Society Distinguished Lecture
Friday, 19 Nov


Join us for this virtual event on Researchers’ search for new solutions with better efficiency, regulation, and power density at the confluence of PWM, resonant, and switching-capacitor converters.  A link will be sent to the email used for registration and this event qualifies for professional development hours.

2022 ExCom Officer Candidates

Congratulations to the 2022 Officer Candidates for the IEEE Baltimore Section Executive Committee (ExCom).  Nominees for each position are:

Officer PositionChairVice-ChairTreasurerSecretary
Candidate NameDilip ChakravartySyed AhmadJohn A. OrlandoDon Herres
Nancy Landreville

Please take a moment to review each candidate’s bio.  Officer election for 2022 is expected to open around 1 November and remain available through 12 December.  Voting will take place via web with voting instructions provided at a later date.  Thank you for your continued support of IEEE and the Baltimore Section.

IEEE Member Discounts

The Membership and Geographic Activities (MGA) Board of IEEE is pleased to notify the membership of the following IEEE member discounts.

  • Wolfram – Mathematica technical computing software, available to students and professional members worldwide
  • GradFin- student loan refinance advisory available for US borrowers

Also, members may register for the Insurance Circuit, a free, monthly newsletter from Mercer, which covers news and information about the IEEE Member Group Insurance Program and financial well-being.

Stay tuned for additional member benefits coming in 2021.

Notes from the Communications Society
Regional Chapter Chairs Congress

.IEEE Communications Society North America Region held their congress in December 2020.  The two day virtual event with theme: Chapter Vitality & Strive for Diversity has been recorded and posted to as Day 1 and Day 2.

Career Resources

Baltimore Section Members – various career resources have been provided by IEEE-USA.  The following links will take you to those resources on IEEE-USA‘s website.

The section is also pleased to provide links to the following content:

  • Developing your Path: A Guide to Landing your Dream Career [E-Book]
  • Career Development Opportunities and Resources [Slide Presentation]
  • The Perils of Complacency: Broadcast date 11 Dec 20 [On-demand Video]

EMBS Seminar Follow-up


Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS) and the IEEE Baltimore Section thank Dr. Jin-Oh Hahn for his 20 Oct presention on the recent advances in blood pressure monitoring technologies.  He graciously permitted us to post the slides from his talk.  Please take a moment to review the great information that was presented at this seminar.

Brain-2-Computer-Interface Competition 2020 (Postponed Indefinitely)

Baltimore Section sadly reports that due to the closure of the UMBC campus and subsequent cancellation of the Region 2 2020 Student Activity Conference (SAC2020), we will not be holding the B2CI competition on its originally scheduled date.  At this time we have no reschedule date, but as more information becomes available we will post it here.

Our section is pleased to offer the following upcoming events.