IEEE Benelux COM/VT Jt. Chapter

February 4th, 2020

The SCVT 2020 Symposium is organised in Amsterdam, NL the 12-13 May 2020. More information can be found here.SCVT2020_Call For Papers – SC

August 14th, 2019

Call for Papers IEEE SCVT 2019

November 29th, 2019

ESA Technical Research Center (ESTEC), Noordwijk, The Netherlands

The IEEE Symposium on Communications and Vehicular Technology (IEEE SCVT) is an annual event organized by the IEEE Benelux Joint Chapter on Communications and Vehicular Technology. It is our pleasure to invite you to the 26th edition of IEEE SCVT scheduled to be held at the ESA/ESTEC in Noordwijk (NL) on November 29, 2019. The Symposium is aimed at presenting and discussing the latest scientific and technical advances in communication systems and vehicular communication technology. The event will consist of invited talks, and oral and poster presentations of contributed abstracts.

You are invited to submit extended abstracts (up to 2 pages) for paper-less industry presentations or ongoing work presentations according to the deadlines given below. Accepted abstracts will be included in a book of abstracts and scheduled in lecture and poster sessions. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Techniques and Technology:

  • Robust transmitter and receiver designs
  • MIMO, multi-user detection & diversity techniques
  • Network robustness
  • Reliability of wireless access and networking
  • Network coding and physical Layer security
  • Location aware applications
  • Energy harvesting
  • Energy efficient localization
  • Communication theory
  • Full duplex radios
  • Channel characterization and modeling
  • Coding, modulation and synchronization
  • Quality of service and quality of experience
  • Routing protocols

Communication Systems and Networks:

  • Ad-hoc and sensor networks
  • Cellular and wireless networks
  • Optical communication and networks
  • Self-organizing networks
  • Personal and body area networks
  • Very High Throughput Satellites
  • Massive M2M/IoT over satellite
  • Vehicular communications
  • Cognitive and cooperative communications
  • Smart grid communications and control
  • Next generation mobile, broadband and broadcast satellite systems
  • 5G paradigm

The accepted and actually presented papers and posters of the conference will not be submitted for inclusion into IEEE Xplore.

=== Important dates ===

September 09, 2019: Extended Abstract submission deadline
October 07, 2019: Notification of acceptance
November 11, 2019: Camera-ready extended abstract submission deadline
November 29, 2019: Symposium

=== Paper submission ===

The organizing committee invites contributions in the form of extended abstracts of minimally 1 page and maximally 2 pages long, in standard IEEE two-column conference paper format. The abstract should be written in English. Examples of results, illustrations and references should be included. The first page should contain title, name(s) of author(s) with contact person identified, address, telephone, e-mail address, and organization affiliation.

Direct link to submission in EDAS:

We welcome your contributions and look forward to your participation at IEEE SCVT 2019.

=== Awards ===

A best student paper award will be given. To qualify for the award, a student has to be the first author of the paper and present the paper himself/herself.

=== Organising Committee ===

General chairs
Nader Alagha, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
Stefano Cioni, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
Nele Noels, Ghent University (BE)

Chapter Executive Committee
Chair: Heidi Steendam, Ghent University (BE)
Vice-Chair: Homayoun Nikookar, Netherlands Defence Academy (NL)
Treasurer: Sofie Pollin, KU Leuven (BE)
Secretary: Nadar Alagha, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
Webmaster: Joel Grotz, SES Satellites (LU)
Chris Blondia, University of Antwerp (BE)
Fernando Kuipers, Delft University of Technology (NL)
Jan Haagh, Eindhoven University of Technology (NL)
Guy Leduc, Université de Liège (BE)
Ingrid Moerman, University of Gent and iMinds (BE)
Laurent Schumacher, University of Namur (BE)
Bhavani Shankar, University of Luxembourg (LU)
Claude Oestges, Université Catholique de Louvain
Bruno Quoitin, Université de Mons
Mamoun Guenach, IMEC Leuven (BE)
Stefano Cioni, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
Mitra Nasri, Delft University of Technology (NL)



June 13th, 2019

SCVT 2019 will be held in November 2019 at ESA/ESTEC in Noordijk.

Details will be posted soon.

June 5th, 2018

The annual SCVT symposium of IEEE Benelux COM/VT will be held 12 November 2018 at Ghent University (Belgium). The registration is open here and the event program can be found here: IEEE_SCVT_Benelux_25th_PreliminaryProgram.

February 6th, 2018

It is our pleasure to announce the international Francqui Chair lecture series of Professor Robert Calderbank from January to June 2018 at different institutions in Belgium, including ULB/VUB Brussels, Uni Ghent, UC Louvain and KU Leuven.

More information can be found here.

December 19th, 2017

IEEE COM/VT Benelux supports the European Space Agency (ESA) Workshop on Maritime VHF Data Exchange System  (VDES) held the 16. January 2018 in Noordwijk (The Netherlands).

More details can be found here.

October 24th, 2017

The conference program is now available for the SCVT 2017 Symposium, 14 November 2017 in Leuven, Belgium. In addition the registration of the event is open. Welcome! We are looking forward to seeing you there.


June 12th, 2017

The SCVT symposium 2017 is planned for the  14 November 2017 in Leuven (BE). The call for papers can be found here.

May 30th, 2017

The IEEE COM/VT Benelux is proud to announce the distinguished lecture tour (DLT) of Professor Mohsen Kavehrad. Please earmark the dates: 20th June in Ghent (Belgium), 21st of June in Luxembourg, and 22nd of June in Noordwijk at ESTEC/ESA.

May 7th, 2017

The Chapter is proud supporter of the Joint IRACOn-ESoA training school on large scale radio propagation held at UCL, Louvain-la-Neuve (Belgium) from  12th to 16th of June 2017.