IEEE Winnipeg Section


2013 IEEE GOLD Executive Biographies

The following individuals have volunteered to participate on the GOLD Executive for 2013. This is subject to ratification at the 2013 AGM currently schedule for January 21, 2013.

Chair: Kathryn Marcynuk (University of Manitoba)

kathryn_marcynuk_largeKathryn Marcynuk is currently a Master’s student in Computer Engineering at the University of Manitoba, having completed her undergraduate degree in the same field in May 2012. Throughout her undergraduate degree she was actively involved in Engineering student groups at the local and national levels. In 2012 she attended the IEEE Canada Congress and was the IEEE WiE Winnipeg Chapter Interim Chair, and she looks forward to becoming more active in the IEEE community.

Vice-Chair: Kane Anderson (Buhler Versatile)

kane_anderson_largeI graduated from University of Manitoba computer engineering in 2012.  During my studies I served as Vice-chair of UMIEEE, as Electrical & Computer Engineering Coordinator / Communications team lead of UMSATS, as president of UMCHESS, and on the executive committee of UMARS.  I am currently working at Buhler Versatile, where I contribute to embedded software for agricultural vehicles.

Secretary: Matthew Kulasza (University of Manitoba)

matt_kulasza_largeMatthew Kulasza is currently studying at the University of Manitoba as a Masters student in Electrical Engineering. He received his Bachelors of Science in Electrical Engineering from the University of Manitoba in June of 2012. During the course of his undergraduate degree, Matthew was involved in the University of Manitoba IEEE student branch and served as Chair of the branch during the 2010-2011 academic year. He has been involved in IEEE GOLD since his graduation as a Director-at-Large for the group.

Treasurer: Arash Fazel-Darbandi (HVDC Research Centre)

arash_fazel_darbandi_largeArash Fazel Darbandi received a BSc in Electrical Engineering from University of Manitoba. He is an EIT, working at Manitoba HVDC Research Centre a division of Manitoba Hydro International. He has been an active volunteer with the IEEE GOLD since 2011. In 2012, he was named as treasurer of the Winnipeg IEEE GOLD chapter. As Treasurer of the IEEE GOLD, he will look after its finances, maintain good record keeping and communication with the IEEE Winnipeg Section.

Director: Sam Kovnats (Manitoba Hydro)

Director: Steven Howell (Manitoba Hydro)

Director: Troy Denton (MTS)

Director: Alex Hogeveen Rutter (Manitoba Hydro)

Comments are closed.