In memory of those that left an invaluable mark in our community

Sang Lyul Min

Prof. Sang Lyul Min was a dedicated leader with great contributions to the real-time community.  His frontier work on architecture-aware timing analysis led a new research field that bridges the real-time community and the computer architecture community. He also had a major impact on the flash memory industry.  His contributions include a breakthrough design of SSD in the mid-2000’s, leading to the world’s fastest commercial SSD products at the time. He served on many program committees, including of RTSS, RTAS, ECRTS.  He also has chaired or organized many conferences and workshops. For example, he co-organized the first RTCSA in 1994 at Seoul National University and  ESWEEK 2006 in Seoul.  He was program co-chair of EMSOFT 2016 and LCTES 2000, general co-chair of ISCA 2016, and many other domestic and international events.  Prof. Sang Lyul Min from Seoul National University passed away on February 24th, 2020 after bravely fighting pancreatic cancer for about a year.  We are deeply saddened by the untimely loss of Prof. Sang Lyul Min and will remember his life and legacy.

Stefan Petters

Stefan was a prominent member of our community with strong interest for practical aspects of real-time computing. His work extended from worst-case execution time to schedulability analysis, mixed-criticality systems, adaptive real-time systems and system energy management. He organized the first student competition at RTSS 2005, the Martian Task, and was a strong supporter of RTSS@Work, having chaired the first edition in RTSS 2011. Beyond these examples, he participated in the organization of numerous related events, being recognized for his enthusiasm and positive character. Notably, he was General Co-Chair of RTCSA 2006 in Sydney and ECRTS 2011 in Porto. His professional path crossed academia and industry, from the University of York, to NICTA in Sydney, CISTER in Porto, Elektrobit in Munich and Exida in Stuttgart. Stefan sadly passed way in November of 2019, at the age of 50.