FORMATS 2019: Call for papers

Call for papers

17th International Conference on Formal Modeling and Analysis of Timed Systems

(FORMATS 2019)

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
August 26-31, 2018
(Co-located with CONCUR 2019 and FMICS 2019)

NEW this year: tool papers
NEW this year: special sessions


Timing aspects of systems from a variety of computer science domains have been treated independently by different communities. Researchers interested in semantics, verification and performance analysis study models such as timed automata and timed Petri nets, the digital design community focuses on propagation and switching delays while designers of embedded controllers have to take account of the time taken by controllers to compute their responses after sampling the environment.

Timing-related questions in these separate disciplines do have their particularities. However, there is a growing awareness that there are basic problems that are common to all of them. In particular, all these sub-disciplines treat systems whose behaviour depends upon combinations of logical and temporal constraints; namely, constraints on the temporal distances between occurrences of events.

Important Dates

  • Abstract submission: April 21, 2019
  • Paper submission: April 24, 2019
  • Notification of acceptance: June 12, 2019
  • Final version due: June 29, 2019
  • Conference: August 26-31, 2019


The aim of FORMATS is to promote the study of fundamental and practical aspects of timed systems, and to bring together researchers from different disciplines that share interests in modelling and analysis of timed systems.

In 2019, FORMATS aims at being more inclusive wrt to applications, notably real-time systems.

Typical topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Foundations and Semantics:
    • Theoretical foundations of timed systems and languages
    • comparison between different models (timed automata, timed Petri nets, hybrid automata, timed process algebra, max-plus algebra, probabilistic models).
  • Methods and Tools:
    • Techniques, algorithms, data structures, and software tools for analyzing timed systems and resolving temporal constraints (scheduling, worst-case execution time analysis, optimization, model checking, testing, constraint solving, etc.).
  • Applications:
    • Adaptation and specialization of timing technology in application domains in which timing plays an important role (real-time software, hardware circuits, and problems of scheduling in manufacturing and telecommunication).

Paper Submission

FORMATS 2019 solicits high-quality papers reporting research results and/or experience reports related to the topics mentioned above. Submitted papers must contain original, unpublished contributions, not submitted for publication elsewhere. The papers should be submitted electronically in PDF, following the Springer LNCS style guidelines.

Each paper will undergo a thorough review process. If necessary, the paper may be supplemented with a clearly marked appendix, which will be reviewed at the discretion of the program committee.

Two categories of papers are sought:

  • Regular papers should describe fundamental research, practical research or experience reports, and should not exceed 15 pages in length (excluding references, that are therefore not limited).
  • Tool papers (NEW) should describe a tool, and should not exceed 5 pages in length (excluding references).

Papers will be submitted electronically via EasyChair online submission system (

Publication and best paper award

The proceedings of FORMATS 2019 will be published by Springer in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. The best paper of the conference will be awarded the Oded Maler Award in Timed Systems.

Special sessions

FORMATS 2019 will contain two special sessions. Papers submitted into special sessions will undergo the same review process as regular papers, but will be presented in a special slot during the conference.

  1. Special session on timed systems and big data (chair: Martin Fränzle)
  2. Special session on timed systems and probabilities (chair: Nathalie Bertrand)


General Chair

Jos Baeten (The Netherlands)

Program committee

  • Alessandro Abate (England)
  • S. Akshay (India)
  • Étienne André (France) _co-chair_
  • Enrico Bini (Italy)
  • Sergiy Bogomolov (Australia)
  • Jyotirmoy Deshmukh (USA)
  • Martin Fränzle (Germany)
  • Ichiro Hasuo (Japan)
  • David N. Jansen (China)
  • Jan Křetínský (Germany)
  • Didier Lime (France)
  • Brian Nielsen (Denmark)
  • Peter Csaba Ölveczky (Norway)
  • Pavithra Prabhakar (USA)
  • Karin Quaas (Germany)
  • Pierre-Alain Reynier (France)
  • César Sánchez (Spain)
  • Ocan Sankur (France)
  • Ana Sokolova (Austria)
  • Oleg Sokolsky (USA)
  • Jiří Srba (Denmark)
  • Mariëlle Stoelinga (The Netherlands) _co-chair_
  • Jun Sun (Singapore)
  • Lothar Thiele (Switzerland)
  • Enrico Vicario (Italy)
  • James Worrell (England)
  • Wang Yi (Sweden)

Steering committee

  • Rajeev Alur (USA)
  • Eugene Asarin (France)
  • Martin Fränzle (Germany)
  • Thomas A. Henzinger (Austria)
  • Joost-Pieter Katoen (Germany)
  • Kim G. Larsen (Denmark)
  • Oded Maler (France) _(1957-2018)_
  • Lothar Thiele (Switzerland)
  • Wang Yi (Sweden)
This entry was posted in CFP. Bookmark the permalink.