ICESS 2018 – Call for Papers

Call for Papers

The 15th IEEE International Conference on Embedded Software Systems (ICESS 2018)
San Francisco, USA

Sponsored by IEEE, IEEE Computer Society, IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC), and IEEE Technical Committee on Real-Time Systems (TCRTS)

Co-located with DAC 2018 (participants can access DAC exhibits, keynotes and receptions)

Submission Deadline: March 1, 2018 (extended from Feb. 23)


The IEEE International Conference on Embedded Software and Systems brings together researchers and developers from academia, industry, and government to advance the science, engineering, and technology of embedded software development. ICESS is becoming an important venue for research in the design and analysis of software that
interacts with physical processes, with a long-standing tradition for results on cyber-physical systems, which compose computation, networking, and physical dynamics.

Areas of Interest:

Systems, Models and Algorithms Track

  • Embedded System Architecture
  • Embedded Software Architectures
  • Embedded OS, Scheduling and Runtime Support
  • Embedded Storage and I/O Systems
  • Real-Time Embedded Systems
  • Distributed and Networked Embedded Systems
  • Fault Tolerant and Trusted Embedded Systems
  • Mixed-Criticality Embedded Systems
  • Heterogeneous SoC and Multicore Embedded Systems
  • Power and Thermal Aware Computing
  • Pervasive/Ubiquitous Computing
  • Reconfigurable Embedded Computing

Design Methodology and Tools Track

  • Design Technologies of Embedded Systems
  • Formal Methods for Embedded Systems
  • Middleware for Embedded Systems
  • IDE and Software Tools
  • Hardware/Software Co-Design
  • Component-Based Embedded Software Design
  • Model-based Design for Embedded Software
  • Domain/Application-Specific Design Techniques
  • Testing Techniques for Embedded Software/Systems
  • Verification and Validation for Embedded Systems
  • Compilation and Debug Techniques and Tools
  • Performance Evaluation Techniques and Tools
  • Safety of Machine Learning for Embedded Systems

Emerging Embedded Applications and Interdisciplinary Topics Track

  • Intelligent Embedded Systems
  • Machine Learning for Embedded Applications
  • Internet-of-Things (IoT)
  • Wearable Computing
  • Smart City
  • Robotics and Control Systems
  • Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Cyber-Physical Systems
  • Automotive and Avionics Systems
  • Medical Systems
  • Database & Multimedia Systems
  • Network Protocols and Security
  • Emergency and Disaster Management
  • Consumer Electronics
  • Mobile Cloud Computing
  • Industrial Practices and Case Studies

Paper Submission Guidelines:

Successful submissions should contain significant novel ideas and technical results, which have not been published or concurrently submitted to any other venue.

Submitted manuscripts should be written in English conforming to the IEEE conference proceedings format (8.5°» x 11°» page size, two-column, template available here). All paper submissions must represent original and unpublished work. Papers must be submitted for peer review as PDF files through EasyChair.

Papers submitted for review should not be longer than 8 pages in the IEEE conference format indicated earlier. Some papers may be accepted after review as short papers; the camera-ready versions of such papers should normally not exceed 4 pages. Authors of accepted papers (regular-length or short papers) will have the option to pay for up to 2 extra pages at the time of registration.

Accepted papers from this conference will be published by the IEEE Computer Society as an IEEE Proceedings (indexed by EI Compendex). Distinguished papers, after further revisions, will be considered for possible publication in some special issues of prestigious
international journals (SCI- & EI-indexed).

Important Dates:

  • Submissions due: February 23, 11:59pm anywhere on earth
  • Notifications: March 31
  • Camera-ready versions: April 15
  • Conference dates: June 24 & 25

General Chairs:

Dionisio De Niz, Software Engineering Institute, USA
Tei-Wei Kuo, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Publicity Chairs:

Kai Lampka, Elektrobit Automotive GmbH, Germany
Cong Liu, University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Jinkyu Lee, Sungkyunkwan University (SKKU), Republic of Korea

Steering Committee:


Zhaohui Wu, Zhejiang University, China
Laurence T. Yang, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada


Yann-Hang Lee, Arizona State University, USA
Xiangke Liao, National University of Defence Technology, China
Edwin Sha, Chongqing University, China
Xingshe Zhou, Northwestern Polytechnical University, China
Sandeep K Shukla, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
Dakai Zhu, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA
Zili Shao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University, China

Program Committee:


Sathish Gopalakrishnan, The University of British Columbia, Canada
Haibo Zeng, Virginia Tech, USA

This entry was posted in CFP. Bookmark the permalink.