The links to the program and proceedings are given below:

The schedule is also shown below.

Keynote Speakers

The keynote speakers will highlight the latest advancements and future perspectives of electric drives and power converters, from the perspective of sensorless control and monitoring techniques.

Frede Blaabjerg

Professor, Aalborg University, Denmark

Frede Blaabjerg (S’86–M’88–SM’97–F’03) received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark, in 1992. He was with ABB-Scandia, Randers, Denmark, from 1987 to 1988. He became an Assistant Professor in 1992, an Associate Professor in 1996, and a Full Professor of power electronics and drives in 1998. Since 2017, he has been a Villum Investigator.

He has published more than 450 journal papers in the fields of power electronics and its applications. He is the coauthor of two monographs and editor of six books in power electronics and its applications. His current research interests include power electronics and its applications, such as in wind turbines, PV systems, reliability, harmonics, and adjustable-speed drives.

Dr. Blaabjerg received 17 IEEE Prize Paper Awards, the IEEE PELS Distinguished Service Award in 2009, the EPE-PEMC Council Award in 2010, the IEEE William E. Newell Power Electronics Award 2014, and the Villum Kann Rasmussen Research Award 2014. He was an Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE Transactions on Power Electronics from 2006 to 2012. He is nominated in 2014 and 2015 by Thomson Reuters to be between the most 250 cited researchers in Engineering in the world.

Lennart Harnefors

Senior Principal Scientist, ABB Corporate Research, Sweden

Lennart Harnefors (S’93–M’97–SM’07–F’17) received the M.Sc., Licentiate, and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden, and the Docent (D.Sc.) degree in industrial automation from Lund University, Lund, Sweden, in 1993, 1995, 1997, and 2000, respectively.

Between 1994 and 2005, he was with Mälardalen University, Västerås, Sweden, from 2001 as a Professor of electrical engineering. Between 2001 and 2005, he was, in addition, a part-time Visiting Professor of electrical drives with the Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden. Since 2005, he has been with ABB, where he is currently a Senior Principal Scientist in Corporate Research, Västerås, Sweden. He is, in addition, a part-time Adjunct Professor of power electronics with KTH. His research interests include control and dynamic analysis of power electronic systems, particularly grid-connected converters, ac drives, and wide-bandgap-transistor switching circuits.

Dr. Harnefors is an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics and the IET Electric Power Applications.

Matti Kauhanen

Vice President, Technology Manager, ABB, Finland

Matti Kauhanen is heading the Technology Management Office in the Drives and Controls Business Unit, which is responsible for electric drives and related solutions within the ABB Group. ABB is the global market leader in variable speed drives business. He joined Strömberg in 1984 and since then he has held various positions within the company in the areas of research and development.

Mr. Kauhanen has more than 30 years of experience in electric drives. He has been involved in the development of various products from Strömberg Sami Star to ABB ACS880 frequency converters. Since 2000, he has been responsible for technology and platform development for various products. Lately, his focus has also been on research and development processes and productivity. Digitalization, software, analytics, and connectivity technologies are some of his new research objectives.