IEEE Power & Energy Society Singapore Chapter


DLP Dr Jianhui Wang 2019@ NTU

DLP Dr Amir Miragha 2019@ NewRIIS

Technical Tour to ABB Digital Solutions Centre 2019

DLP Dr Kalyan K. Sen 2019@ NUS

A Panel Discussion on: “The Untold Secrets to Pursuing and Winning Research Funding: Learn from the Stories of the International Experts”

Spring Party with Seniors on 03 Mar 2018

CNY 2018 at PES Singapore

The Power Engineering Chapter was founded in 1984 under the leadership of Dr. Lock Kai Sang. In March 2008, the name was changed to Power & Energy Society. Singapore Chapter celebrated 25 Anniversary on 2 December 2009.  It remains one of the most active and successful chapters within the IEEE Singapore Section. The following are some of the milestones achieved by the chapter and pivotal moments in the chapter history.”

1984 Founded with Pro-Tem committee formed
1994 Outstanding Engineer Award constituted
2000 Donated $20,000 each to NTU and NUS to set up gold medals and book prizes for outstanding students specialising in power and electrical engineering
2002 Chapter web site launched (
2018 New chapter web site launched (


Past Chairmen

1984 Lock Kai Sang (Pro-Tem committee)
1985-1986 Lock Kai Sang
1987-1988 Patrick Ong
1989-1990 Seow Kang Seng
1991 David Chan
1992-1993 Ian Butt
1994-1995 C S Chang
1996 N Rajkumar
1997-1999 Deepak Waikar
2000-2001 Govinda Shrestha
2002-2003 Lalit Goel
2004-2005 Rajnish Gupta
2006-2007 Chen Shiun
2008-2009 Dipti Srinivasan
2010-2011 Tan Teck Lee
2012-2013 Wang Peng
2014-2015 Gek Huat TEH
2016-2017 Kian Hoong Kwan
2018 Thillainathan Logenthiran



2009 Awarded High Performing Chapter
2009 Awarded second in the IEEE PES chapters web site contest
2008 Awarded third in the IEEE PES chapters web site contest (a tie with the San Francisco Chapter).
2006 Voted the best Chapter in IEEE Singapore Section
2006 Awarded first in the IEEE PES chapters web site contest for the second time
2005 Awarded first in the inaugural IEEE PES chapters web site contest