IEEE regularly grants awards and scholarships to outstanding students in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Prizes and awards are given to pre-college students in math and science generally. Awards are given at the national, regional and local levels.

IEEE Jim Thomas Memorial Scholarship

In 1992 the IEEE Richland Section started its annual scholarship for Washington State University, Tri-Cities students.  This scholarship awards $1000 to an outstanding IEEE student member based on academic achievement and demonstrated interest in IEEE fields of interest.  The renaming of this scholarship memorializes Jim Thomas’ world-renown career.  The scholarship’s purpose is to encourage students to pursue academic excellence and subsequent careers in an IEEE field of interest and to contribute to the development of technological expertise and industry in the United States.

Scholarship Purpose:

To encourage Washington State University, Tri-Cities students in the pursuit of an academic degree and subsequent career in electrical of electrical, electronics, and /or computer engineering, or computer science and contribute to the development of technology expertise and industry in the United States.

For students enrolled or accepted for enrollment for the 2014-2015 Academic Year in WSU Tri-Cities (WSU-TC). One scholarship will be awarded in 2014.

The scholarship is presented by the IEEE Richland Section to an IEEE Student or Graduate Student Member grade individual judged to have best demonstrated academic achievement and interest in a career in the areas of electrical, electronics, and /or computer engineering, computer science, and allied fields. For more details see the attached applications.

Columbia Basin College (CBC) and Blue Mountain Community College students are eligible to be IEEE Student members and are eligible for the scholarship if they will be enrolled at either WSU-TC for the 2014-2015 Academic Year. WSU-TC students should discuss their plans with Professor Mohamed A. Osman, WSU-TC IEEE Student Branch Counselor.

The application forms are

Submit 2014 applications electronically to: by Noon, February 19, 2014.