2015 IEEE Rural Electrification Excellence Award Recipient

2015 IAS/PES A.P. Seethapathy Rural Electrification Excellence Award

2015 Seethapathy Picture #1On Tuesday, April 21, 2015 the 2015 IAS/PES A.P. Seethapathy Rural Electrification Excellence Award was presented to Russ Dantzler, retired Vice-president of Engineering/Operations at Mid-Carolina Electric Cooperative.  Unfortunately Russ passed in February from complications of ALS.  Russ’ wife Bonnie received the award at the 2015 Rural Electric Power Conference (REPC) in Asheville, NC.  On hand to present the award was Bob Saint, Award Selection Committee Co-Chair, Russ’ close friend and colleague, Berl Davis, President and CEO, Palmetto Electric Cooperative, Inc. and IAS Executive Director,  Patrick McCarren.

Berl gave an upbeat speech on Russ’s contributions to IEEE, the REPC conference, the industry and well as some personal experiences both in and out of the industry. Berl ended his speech with a request for everyone to have a margarita in honor of Russ (his favorite drink).  Bonnie accepted the award, thanked the group and reminded attendees of what kind of man Russ was.

The award read “For work that fostered the development and improvement of operational techniques and technologies for the benefit of the rural power industry as a whole.”

The purpose of the award is to recognize exceptional power engineers who have worked, implemented or innovated better and cheaper electrification technologies for the rural sector.  The award is co-funded by the IEEE Power & Energy Society and the IEEE Industry Applications Society. The initial endowment was funded in part by a donation from the family of A.P. Seethapathy.

Candidates must be active in the field of rural electrification for at least 5 years.   Selection was based on evaluation of accomplishments as revealed by published works, documented testimonials from industry colleagues, or other objective demonstrations of accomplishments over an extended period of time.  Of particular importance is evidence of the candidate’s innovative content and societal impact; lower cost solution; originality and practicality; and evidence of implementation.

Previous award winners include: Bill Kersting, retired, New Mexico State University (2010), Bob Dew, Hi-Line Engineering (2011), Wayne Carr, Milsoft Utility Solutions, Inc. (2012), Dr. P.K. Sen, Colorado School of Mines (2013), Gregory A. Wolven, P.E., WIN Energy R.E.M.C. (2014).

2015 Seethapathy Award Picture #2