Volunteer Resources

According to the IEEE MGA manual, that governs our Section, all elected offices and other positions on the executive committee will become vacant on 31st of December each year. Therefore, the Queensland section is calling for nominations.

Eligibility:

To be eligible, a nominee must be an active in relevant section/society member of the Graduate Student Member, Member, Senior Member or Fellow grade. Volunteers who have served four consecutive years in a role immediately prior to next year or six years in their membership period are NOT eligible for further service in the same role. IEEE Queensland section always encourages and welcome members to join the committee. However, the nominee should have a reasonable experience to conduct the expected duties.

Term:

The new committee would serve for one year from the 1st of January until the 31st of December.

Duties:

The duties of the officers can be downloaded at the bottom of this page under “guidelines” tab.

How to apply:

Send an email expressing your interested to become a volunteer with the following information:

  • IEEE membership number
  • Position you are applying for
  • Preferred email address

Expressions of interest need to be sent to chairs of the nomination committee for the corresponding chapter by 10 October 2020.

The details of the Chairs of the nominating committee are provided in the table below.

Section/Chapter/Joint Chapter/Affinity Group List of positions Nominating Committee Chair
Queensland Section • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

Secretary

Community Manager

• Webmaster

• Newsletter Editor

• Chairs of the following

 

Standing Committees:

Membership Development Activities Committee

Professional/Career Activities Committee

Student Activities Committee

Educational Activities Committee

Awards & Recognition Committee

bergmann@itee.uq.edu.au

Neil Bergmann

Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

v.clarkson@ieee.org

Vaughan Clarkson

Computational Intelligence Chapter • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

robert.ellen@gmail.com

Robert Ellen

Computer Chapter • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

jun.zhou@griffith.edu.au

Jun Zhou

Control Systems/Robotics and Automation

Society

• Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

michael.Lees@ieee.org

Michael Less

Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

olivier.salvado@csiro.au

Oliver Salvado

Microwave Theory and Techniques/Antennas and Propagation Societies

 

• Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

Konstanty Bialkowski

konstanty@ieee.org

Power and Energy/Dielectrics and

Electrical Insulation Societies

• Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

ruifeng@itee.uq.edu.au

Richard Yan

Power Electronics/Industrial Electronics/ Industry Applications Societies • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

batterhamd@gmail.com

David Batterham

Signal Processing/Communications Societies • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

gregory.hislop@gmail.com

Gregory Hislop

Women in Engineering • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

m.eghbal@uq.edu.au

Daniel Eghbal

Young Professionals • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

m.eghbal@uq.edu.au

Daniel Eghbal

Blockchaing&IoT group • Chair

• Vice-Chair

• Treasurer

• Secretary

v.clarkson@ieee.org

Vaughan Clarkson