IEEE Phoenix Section Awards For The Year 2016

The IEEE Phoenix Section recognizes the contributions of members, non-members, society chapters, affinity groups, student branches, corporations, and educational institutions at the annual banquet. The next banquet is scheduled for Saturday, February 11th, 2017 at Phoenix Airport Marriott located at 1101 N. 44th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85008 from 5:30 PM to 9:30 PM (Tel: 602-273-7373).

The Section is pleased to issue a call for nominations for this year’s Section awards. The scope and purpose of the Section Awards Program is to plan, promote and implement IEEE award programs that recognize outstanding performance in furthering the objectives and professional aims of the IEEE Phoenix Section, the IEEE, and the IEEE-USA, and to stimulate others to pursue such achievements of excellence.

The Phoenix Section has established the following general award categories:

  • Member
  • Society Chapter / Affinity Group
  • Non-Member
  • Corporate
  • Education
  • Section Chair

The Awards Guide lists the awards along with the selection criteria that will be implemented for selecting the award recipient. The Awards Guide can be accessed at ieee-phoenix-section-annual-banquet-2016-awards-nomination-instructions-october-4-2016.

Please read through the Awards Guide to help you in selecting the award category for nomination.

All sections of the form should be completely filled electronically. Submission of additional documents such as resume in support of the nomination is highly encouraged.

Key Dates:
Submission Website Opens: Tuesday, November 1st, 2016
Submission deadline: Sunday, December 18th, 2016
Awardees and nominators will be informed by: Sunday, January 15th, 2017

Only nomination forms submitted by the deadline will be reviewed by the awards committee consisting of the following IEEE Phoenix Section Officers:

  • Awards Committee Chair: Dr. Vasudeva P. Atluri
  • Awards Committee Vice-Chair: Dr. Charles E. Weitzel
  • Past Chair: Ms. Barbara McMinn
  • Chair: Mr. Bruce J. Ladewig
  • Vice Chair: Mr. Surinder K. Tuli
  • Secretary: Mr. Vivek Gupta
  • Treasurer: Dr. Mahesh K. Shah
  • Student Activities Coordinator: Dr. Diane S. Smith

For additional information, please contact Dr. Vasudeva P. Atluri, Section Awards Committee Chair, at (480) 227-8411 or by email at, and Dr. Charles E. Weitzel, Section Awards Committee Vice-Chair, at (480) 292-0531 or by email at

Award Nomination Form

Candidate's Information


First Name*

Middle Name

Last Name*

Street Address*

Address Line 2







IEEE membership: Please select member cateogry

IEEE Member Number

Award Categories:
This submission will be automatically directed to the Section Awards Committee Members.

What category are you nominating the candidate for?

A. Member:
B. Society Chapter/Affinity Group:
C. Non-Member:
D. Corporate:
E. Educational:
F. Section Chair:

Award Citation: (limit to maximum of 20 words)

Please provide information in support of the nomination in the space provide below.

Alternatively, you may upload a document (one file, file-size limit: 1 MB):

Nominator's Information



IEEE membership: Please select member category*

IEEE Member Number

Please select your IEEE affiliation

Affiliated Organization Name (If None is chosen above, please provide information of the affiliated company, academic institution, or other organization):



Please attach supporting documents, such as a resume, in support of the nomination (one file, file-size limit: 1 MB):

Captcha >