PES Chapter Updates: Victoria Chapter AWARD CEREMONY 2020

IEEE PES Victorian Chapter organized its annual award ceremony to recognize the contributions of outstanding power and energy system engineers and students on 2nd December 2020. The event ceremony was preceded by the chapter’s last technical seminar in 2020. The seminar was on “Cyber Security for Smart Grid”, where two speakers Tim Daly and Professor Robin Doss shared their valuable insights on the cyber security aspects of the Australian energy sector as well as the security vulnerabilities of integrating internet of things technologies in the energy applications. The event was broadcast online to all members in IEEE PES Victorian Chapter, relevant industry professionals, academic staff and students in Electrical Engineering. There were more than 30 participants who joined the online event and award ceremony.

In 2020, two outstanding engineers have been awarded for their valuable contributions to IEEE PES Victorian chapter. The first recipient is Professor Akhtar Kalam, who has been awarded the outstanding engineer award for years of outstanding contributions to power engineering education and for valuable leadership to the power engineering profession. The second recipient is Alan Goodridge, who has been awarded the outstanding volunteer award for years of dedicated volunteer service to the Chapter and for valuable contributions to the electric power industry.

Fig: A snapshot of the event participants in the award ceremony

In addition, the thesis contest award was also presented in this ceremony. This year, 10 student participants entered the thesis contest, who submitted their PhD or Masters by Research thesis within the last 1 year in the area of electrical engineering from any university within Victoria. Submissions were received from 5 different universities and they were independently reviewed by a number of expert researchers and industry professionals from the chapter. The winner of the thesis contest is Ujjwal Datta from Victoria University, who submitted his PhD thesis on “Battery Energy Storage System for Renewable Energy Integrated Power System Stability Enhancement”. Other participants Abdul Barik, Afif Nazib, Anima Ganeshan, Eity Sarker, Han Wang, Kyriacos Petrou, Muhammad Tabish, Nithya Saiprasad, and Pejman Peidaee have also been recognised for their valuable contributions to the innovations in power and energy research in Victoria.

Dr Shama Naz Islam
Chair, IEEE PES VIC Chapter