PES is proud to announce the 2020 IEEE PES Society Award Recipients. Award recipients are selected through a comprehensive nomination and evaluation process. Please join us to congratulate this year’s recipients for their exceptional achievements.

IEEE PES Award for Excellence in Power Distribution Engineering,
Thomas Beckwith for developing innovative solutions for voltage control and protection of power distribution systems

IEEE PES Charles Concordia Power Systems Engineering Award,
Kenneth E. Martin for contributions to increasing world-wide power systems performance by developing and testing wide-area synchrophasor technologies

IEEE PES CSEE Yu-Hsiu Ku Electrical Engineering Award,
Chen Chen for leadership in the standardization of excitation systems for China Power industry and contribution in power system oscillations analysis

IEEE PES Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Award,
Dan M. Ionel for contributions to the design, development and manufacturing of high efficiency electric motors and generators

IEEE PES IAS A.P. Seethapathy Rural Electrification Excellence Award,
Louis Toth for contributions to electric cooperatives through analysis to improve power quality and reliability of electricity in rural communities

IEEE PES Leadership in Power Award,
Michelle Blaise for exceptional mentorship and leadership in promoting active engineering participation and growth that enabled higher levels of electrical system resilience, reliability, and sustainability

IEEE PES Lifetime Achievement Award,
Pete Sauer for exceptional career-long contributions to power systems modeling and dynamic analysis, and for leadership in power engineering education

IEEE PES Meritorious Service Award,
Christopher Root for outstanding contributions to the long range planning and leadership of the IEEE Power & Energy Society and its Chapters

IEEE PES Nari Hingorani FACTS Award,
P. Sasmal for contribution in improving the stability, security and resilience of the Indian power grid by FACTS technology application

IEEE PES Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award,
Marija Ilic for contributions to mentorship and education on modeling and control in power engineering

IEEE PES Outstanding Young Engineer Award,
Zhaoyu Wang for developments in conservation voltage reduction, microgrid and distribution system control and management, and resilience and restoration enhancement

IEEE PES Prabha S. Kundur Power System Dynamics and Control Award,
Michael J. Gibbard for extraordinary contributions to the theory and software tools for small-signal stability analysis and power system control

IEEE PES Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award,
Benjamin Kroposki for leadership in large-scale integration of renewable energy systems into power distribution systems and microgrids

IEEE PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award,
Milorad Papic for contributions to the development, practical applications and leadership in power system reliability analysis

IEEE PES Uno Lamm High Voltage Direct Current Award,
Hartmut Huang for contribution and leadership in the development of Ultra High-Voltage Direct Current technology and multi-level converters for High-Voltage Direct Current VSC applications

IEEE PES Wanda Reder Pioneer in Power Award,
Yilu Liu for innovative contributions and leadership in synchrophasor-based Wide Area Monitoring and Control Systems

For details about PES Awards please visit The PES awards page.

View all 2020 PES society level awardees.