2017 PES Fellows

PES FellowsThe IEEE Fellow Award Is special recognition for IEEE Members with extraordinary accomplishments in the IEEE technical fields. To ensure that the recognition is extraordinary, the total number of recipients each year cannot exceed 0.1% of the total higher grade membership.

As chair of the IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Fellows Committee, I congratulate the following outstanding PES members for their accomplishments.

Venkat Sharma Kolluri

The Class of 2017

Kankar Bhattacharya

for contributions to electricity markets and reactive power ancillary services

Raymond Byrne

for contributions to miniature robotics and grid integration of energy storage

William Dickerson

for leadership in precision clock and synchrophasor technologies

Xinzhou Dong

for contributions to traveling wave-based transmission line protection and fault location

Zhaoyang Dong

for contributions to development of computational methods for power system stability and planning

Janaka Ekanayake

for contributions to education in renewable energy integration and smart grid

Bhuvaneswari Gurumoorthy

for contributions to design and development of enhanced power quality converters

Zhenyu Huang

for contributions to dynamic analysis and high performance computing in power systems

Juri Jatskevich

for contributions to modeling of electric machines and switching converters

Chongqing Kang

for contributions to power system operation and planning in uncertain environments

Fangxing Li

for contributions to locational marginal price calculation

Kallianpur Padiyar

for contributions to education in power systems and application of power electronics

Veselin Skendzic

for contributions to technologies and standardization in power system protection

Sushil Soonee

for leadership in developing operational methods for power grid
interconnection in India

Jianzhong Tong

for contributions to real-time power system operations

Edson Watanabe

for contributions to the application of power electronics for power conditioning

Terry Ericsen

for leadership in power electronics

Laszlo Huber

for contributions to ac-dc power converters for portable electronics equipment

Dianguo Xu

for contribution to control of electrical drives and power electronic converters

Qing-chang Zhong

for contributions to power electronic systems control

Lennart Harnefors

for contributions to control and dynamic analysis of power electronic systems

Sang Bin Lee

for contributions to off-line testing and on-line condition monitoring for ac electric machines

Pablo Estevez

for contributions to feature selection and visualization of large data sets

Sri Niwas Singh

for leadership and contributions to power engineering education

Jin Jiang

for contributions to methodology, design, and evaluation of engineering systems safety