Meiden America Switchgear

2016 PES Fellows

PES FellowsAwards
By Vahid Madani

PES Fellows
Congratulations to the class of 2016

The IEEE Fellow Award is a special recognition for members with extraordinary accomplishments in the IEEE technical fields. To ensure that the recognition is extraordinary, the total number of recipients each year cannot exceed 0.1% of the total higher grade membership.

The Class of 2016

Alexandre Alves da Silva
for contributions to dynamic security assessment and load forecasting in power systems

C. Y. Chung
for contributions to power system stability and control

George Clark
for contributions to distribution automation for power

Michael Henderson
for contributions to the application of high-voltage DC and flexible AC transmission systems

Rabih Jabr
for application of robust optimization to power systems

Clyde Maughan
for contributions to large generator insulation systems and generator failure mechanisms

Federico Milano
for contributions to power system modeling and simulation

Lamine Mili
for contributions to robust state estimation for power systems

Robert Nelson
for contributions to flexible AC transmission system (FACTS) devices for wind power generation

Mahendra Patel
for contributions to synchrophasors standardization

Joao Abel Pecas Lopes
for contributions to microgrids and the integration of wind generation

Daniel Sabin
for leadership in power quality database management and analysis software

Noel Schulz
for leadership in advancing women in engineering and electric ship technologies

Vladimir Terzija
for contributions to power systems protection

Ping Zhou
for contributions to finite element methods applied to electromagnetic devices and electrical machines

Vassilios Agelidis
for contributions to power electronics, renewable energy conversion and integration with electricity grid

Sudip Mazumder
for contributions to analysis and control of power electronics systems

Sheldon Kennedy
for leadership in the technology and standards for rectifier, inverter and harmonic-mitigating transformers

Silverio Visacro
for contributions to lightning protection

Massoud Amin
for leadership in smart grids and security of critical infrastructures

Kui Ren
for contributions to security and privacy in cloud computing and wireless networks