2015 PES Fellows

PES FellowsAwards
By Vahid Madani

PES Fellows
Congratulations to the class of 2015

The IEEE Fellow Award is a special recognition for members with extraordinary accomplishments in the IEEE technical fields. To ensure that the recognition is extraordinary, the total number of recipients each year cannot exceed 0.1% of the total higher grade membership.

The Class of 2015

Hector Altuve
for contributions to power line and transformer protection

Anastasios Bakirtzis
for contributions to optimization of power systems operation and scheduling

Alberto Borghetti
for contributions to modeling of power distribution systems under transient conditions

Javier Contreras
for contributions to modeling and forcasting of electricity markets

Francisco De Leon
for contributions to transformer modeling for electromagnetic transient studies

Edward Dobrowolski
for leadership in interactive control center technology

Babak Fahimi
for contributions to modeling and analysis of AC adjustable speed motor drives

Manimaran Govindarasu
for contributions to security of power grids

Gary Hoffman
for leadership in the advancement of monitoring systems for power transformers and power line protection

Yi Hu
for leadership in wide-area synchronized measurement systems

James Jodice
for contributions to the testing of protective relays

David Lubkeman
for contributions to power system distribution systems

Luis Marti
for contributions to modeling and simulation of electromagnetic transients

Stephen McArthur
for contributions to intelligent systems with application in power engineering

Timothy McCoy
for leadership in ship-board electric power systems

Shengwei Mei
for contributions to power systems robust control and complexity analysis

Philip Overholt
for leadership in the development and deployment of synchrophasor technology

Surya Santoso
for contributions in automated root cause analysis of electric power quality disturbance phenomena

Vaithianathan Venkatasubramanian
for contributions to on-line detection of oscillatory behavior of electric power systems

Paolo Mattavelli
for contributions to power converters for grid-connected applications and power management

Jian Sun
for contributions to modeling and control of power electronic circuits and systems

Vivek Agarwal
for contributions to topologies and control schemes for solar photovoltaic energy conversion and power quality enhancement

Ming Cheng
for contributions to the development and control of stator permanent magnet machines for vehicular propulsion and wind power generation

Rasheek Rifaat
for contributions to protection of industrial power systems

Chandan Chakraborty
for contributions to estimation techniques and control of induction machine and drive systems