2014 General Meeting Awards

The following awards were presented at the PES 2014 General Meeting in National Harbor, MD on July 29, 2014.


Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award
Mark McGranaghan


Award for Excellence in Power Distribution Engineering
Thomas J. Tobin

Charles Concordia Power Systems Engineering Award
Joe Hong Chow

Cyril Veinott Electromechanical Energy Conversion Award
James S. Edmonds

Douglas M. Staszesky Distribution Automation Award
George Larry Clark

Leadership in Power Award
David W. Roop

Lifetime Achievement Award
Virginia C. Sulzberger

Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award
Harshad Mehta

Nari Hingorani FACTS Award
Ned Mohan

Outstanding Power Engineer Educator Award
Ali Abur

Outstanding Young Engineer Award
Shay Bahramirad

Prabha S. Kundur Power System Dynamics and Control Award
Peter W. Sauer

Ramakumar Family Renewable Energy Excellence Award
J. Charles Smith

Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award
Mark G. Lauby

Uno Lamm High Voltage Direct Current Award
José Antonio Jardini

Wanda Reder Pioneer in Power Award
Jessica J. Bian

Meritorious Service Award
Hans E. Weinrich

Prize Paper Award
“Probing the Intermittent Energy Resource Contributions from Generation
Adequacy and Security Perspectives”
Wijarn Wangdee and Roy Billinton

Working Group Recognition Awards – Outstanding Technical Report
“Effect of Distribution Automation on Protective Relaying”
Fred Friend, Chair Gerald Johnson, Vice Chair

Working Group Recognition Awards – Outstanding Standard or Guide
IEEE Std. 1249-2013, Guide for Computer-based Control for Hydroelectric
Power Plant Automation
Douglas B. Seely Chair

Outstanding Large Chapter Award 2013
Boston Chapter
Susan Soergel, Chair

Outstanding Small Chapter Award 2013
Panama Chapter
Ivan Castillo, Chair