2014 PES Fellows

By Vahid Madani

PES Fellows
Congratulations to the class of 2014

The IEEE Fellow Award is a special recognition for members with extraordinary accomplishments in the IEEE technical fields. To ensure that the recognition is extraordinary, the total number of recipients each year cannot exceed 0.1% of the total higher grade membership.

The Class of 2014

As chair of the IEEE Power & Energy Society (PES) Fellow Committee, I congratulate the following outstanding PES members for their accomplishments.

Bjarne Andersen
for leadership in High Voltage DC Transmission Systems, AC Power Electronics, and Reactive Power Compensation

William Bartley
for contributions to the development of generator and transformer standards for life cycle
planning and risk assessment

Carl Benner
for contributions to development of waveform-based analytics for electric power distribution

Kent Brown
for leadership in standards development for design, testing, and utilization of electrical equipment for the nuclear power industry

Ambrish Chandra
for contributions to power distribution and renewable energy systems

Kwok Cheung
for development and implementation of energy and market management systems
for control centers

Pete Donalek
for contributions to grid-connected pumped storage hydro systems

Mahmud Fotuhi-Firuzabad
for development of probabilistic techniques in power system reliability evaluation

Bjorn Gustavsen
for contributions to frequency-domain modeling techniques

Chris Horwill
for contributions to testing and commissioning of flexible AC transmission systems

Roger King
for contributions in power systems data analytics to improve grid reliability

Benjamin Kroposki
for leadership in renewable and distributed energy systems integration in the electric power system

ThomasMc Dermott
for contributions to modeling and analysis of electric power distribution systems and lightning protection

Andrew Ott
for leadership in the design, development, and operation of competitive wholesale electricity markets

Bradford Roberts
(deceased 10/15/13)
for contributions to the uninterruptible power supply industry and battery

Kiruba Sivasubramaniam
for contributions to high power density electric machines for renewable energy and aerospace applications

Dejan Sobajic
for applications of neural networks for power engineering

Hisao Taoka
for contributions to computing technology for power system analysis and control

Solveig Ward
for contributions to power system protective relaying, communications systems, and tele-protection

Cursino Jacobina
for contributions to the development of power converters and machine drives

Muhammed Rahman
for contributions to direct torque control of integrated permanent magnet machines

Hao Huang
for contributions to electric power generation, conversion, and control in aircraft

Sandeep Shukla
for contributions to applied probablistic model checking for system design

Babu Chalamala
for contributions to the development of advanced materials and device technologies for
vacuum microelectronics and field emission displays

Germano Torres
for contributions to the application of intelligent systems to power systems