IEEE Student Branch at UAFS is formed in Ozark Section

An exciting month for the new Fort Smith student branch.  The petition to form was accepted by IEEE and Region 5, and the first slate of officers elected.  Congratulations to Muhammad Khan and the student volunteers for getting things going!

The UAFS student branch has held its initial meeting, including forming the first slate of student officers: (Meeting I, April 19, 2016 4:00 p.m.)

  • Chairman – Osman Martinez
  • Co – Chair – Jared Dunning
  • Secretary – Justin Kazy
  • Treasurer – Virginia Raible

In the second meeting (Meeting II, April 26, 2016 4:00p.m.) executive committee members along with other chapter members discussed more ideas on topics of discussion from the previous meeting as well as appointed Christ Somphourous as Media chair.

The third meeting (Meeting III, May 3, 2016 4:00p.m.) consisted of the available members of the executive committee to finalize branch constitution and by-laws as well as documents for completion of the RSO application. All votes were unanimous to proceed with chapter constitution and RSO application.

Other Activities:

 IEEE student members Jared Dunning and Justin Moore presented a paper on Design of an Autonomous Robot for a Search and Rescue Game at the UAFS Research Symposium on April 15, 2016. The paper was judged to be the best in its category and students won $200.00 prize for their effort.

Jared Dunning and Justin Moore also presented their autonomous robot to 30 students from Prof. John Martini and Dr. Muhammad Khan’s classes on May 2, 2016. Dr. Khan also gave a talk to students on benefits of joining IEEE and encouraging them to participate in IEEE student branch activities.

Leave a Reply