Orange County Section


2011 IEEE Orange County Award Winners

Alain Chahwan

Outstanding Engineer
Alain Chahwan
Servo systems engineer
Western Digital Corporation

Alain Chahwan received his BASc in Mechatronics Engineering in 2003 from the University of Toronto with main research interests in optoelectronics, photonics and BioMEMS. He worked as a research assistant at the Center for Advanced Diffusion Wave Technologies and Photothermal and Optoelectronics Diagnostics Laboratory where he co-developed a novel non-invasive laser-based probing technique for the early detection of caries in teeth. The technique was validated by implementing an optical setup that can provide simultaneous measurements of laser induced frequency-domain photothermal radiometry and modulated laser luminescence signals emitted from radiated spots on the tooth. He then moved into nanotechnology and MEMS devices where he co-developed a MEMS-based micromachined 2-D scanner for 3-D optical coherence tomography at the Mechatronics and Automation Laboratory and Ontario Cancer Institute.

In 2005, he received his MSc in Control Systems from the University of California, Berkeley with main research interests in MEMS devices and control theory. Alain joined WDC in 2005 where he currently has a leading role as a servo systems engineer. He has made significant technical contributions in the areas of servo system technologies especially in operational vibration/shock detection and compensation to achieve excellent performance and reliability at different areal density points.

Mr. Chahwan is nominated by Mr. Duc Phan Senior Director, the head of the Servo Systems Development Department.

Menas Kafatos

Outstanding Leadership
Dr. Menas Kafatos
Fletcher Jones Endowed Professor in Computational Physics
Dean, Schmid College of Science
Vice Chancellor for Special Projects
Chapman University

Dr. Menas Kafatos joined Chapman University in 2008 as the Vice Chancellor for Special Projects, is also Founding Dean of the Schmid College of Science, Director of the Center for Excellence in Applied, Computational, and Fundamental Science, and is a Fletcher Jones Endowed Professor of Computational Physics. He received his B.A. in Physics from Cornell University in 1967 and his Ph.D. in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1972. After postdoctoral work at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, he joined George Mason University and was University Professor of Interdisciplinary Sciences, Dean of the School of Computational Sciences and Director of the Center for Earth Observing and Space Research.

He has 36 years experience in undergraduate and graduate teaching and research. He has published numerous books including The Conscious Universe, The Non-local Universe, Principles of Integrative Science, and more than 250 articles. He has served in numerous scientific committees, as editor, as well as organizer of several international conferences. He is an honorary member of the Romanian Academy of Sciences, has served in various leadership positions, and is member of several boards, including the University Space Research Association, and presently OCTANe.

He has wide interests in several fields of science and information science:  Interdisciplinary Earth System Science/Earth Observing/Remote Sensing; natural hazards and climate change; Federated, distributed data information system architecture; content-based Earth science data browsing; user interfaces; and associated technologies. In Astrophysics and Space Sciences and Physics: Black holes, active galaxies and quasars; accretion hydrodynamics in curved metrics; General Relativity; high-energy emission from cosmic sources; ultraviolet astronomy, symbiotic stars; atomic physics; cosmological redshifts; Cosmological observations and their limitations; Universal Diagrams; foundations of quantum theory; quantum theory and brain dynamics; consciousness as the unifying field in the cosmos.

Dr.Kafatos was nominated by Dr. Hesham El-Askary, Professor at Chapman University. Dr. Hesham El-Askary, Associate Prof. of Remote Sensing and Earth System Science as well as the director of the graduate programs Hazards, Global and Environmental change and Computational Science, Schmid College of Science, Chapman University.