IEEE Nanotechnology Council
Advancing Nanotech for Humanity

2015 NTC Award Winners Announced

The IEEE Nanotechnology Council Awards Committee has announced its 2015 award winners for the IEEE Nanotechnology Pioneer Award, and the IEEE NTC Early Career Award.   These awards will be presented at IEEE NANO 2015 in Rome, Italy July 29.

Pioneer Award

Professor Chennupati Jagadish
Distinguished Professor and Head of Semiconductor Optoelectronics and Nanotechnology Group
The Australian National University
Canberra, Australia

“For pioneering and sustained contributions to compound semiconductor nanowire and quantum dot optoelectronics.”

Professor Jagadish has established a world-class research program on compound semiconductor optoelectronics and nanotechnology. Key among his accomplishments are a number of major advances in compound semiconductor quantum dot and nanowire growth techniques and optoelectronics devices. Professor Jagadish has received many awards for his work, and in 2005 he was inducted as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science.


Early Career Award

Professor Deji Akinwande
Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Texas at Austin

“For pioneering contributions towards the understanding and development of wafer-scale graphene and flexible nanoelectronics based on two-dimensional sheets.”

Professor Akinwande has gained worldwide recognition for his research and inventions in 2D materials growth and flexible electronic device fabrication. Among Professor Akinwande’s awards are an NSF Career Award, an Alfred P. Sloan Scholarship and the 2012 IEEE NANO Geim and Novoselov Graphene Prize.


2 Responses to “2015 NTC Award Winners Announced”

  1. […] Section Editor of Journal of Physics D: Applied Physics (JPhysD), Chennupati Jagadish, has been awarded the IEEE Nanotechnology Pioneer Award. […]

  2. […] of the pack is another award winner. This time the IEEE Nanotechnology Pioneer award winner and Section Editor of JPhys D Professor Chennupati […]