NAECON (National Aerospace & Electronics Conference) is the oldest and premier IEEE Conference presenting aerospace research in all aspects of theory, design, and applications of systems and sensors.

NAECON 2018 (70th Year Anniversary) is exploring new research and contributions for the next generation aerospace sensor integration with autonomy, artificial intelligence and machine learning.

NAECON 2018 Grand Challenge Problem: “Cooperative Autonomous Systems and Technologies (CAST)

NAECON 2018  theme: “Futuristic Autonomy in Motion

NAECON 2018 Track Areas:

AES Focused Sessions:

  • Aerospace Power Systems and Power Electronics (Chairs: Dr. Zhenhua Jiang, University of Dayton)
  • Photonics Devices and Systems (Chairs: Dr. Nicholaos Limberopoulos,  Air Force Research Laboratory and Dr. Paul McManamon, University of Dayton)
  • Radar, Tomography and RF sensing (Chairs: Dr. Brian Rigling, Wright State University and Dr. Mike Wicks, University of Dayton)
  • Electronic Warfare (Chairs: Dr. Andrew Bogle and Dr. Bob Penno, University of Dayton)
  • Machine Learning, Guidance and Control (Chairs: Dr. Gary Lamont, Air Force Institute of Technology, Dr. Trevor Bihl, Air Force Research Laboratory and Dr. Matthew Sambora, AFLCMC)
  • Terahertz and Millimeter Wave Devices (Chairs: Dr. Elliott Brown, Wright State University and Dr. Kubilay Sertel, The Ohio State University)
  • Cooperative Autonomous Systems and Technology (Chairs: Dr. Rob Williams, Director, Discovery Lab Global and Randall  Geiger, Iowa State University )
  • Open, Agile, and Adaptable Architectures (Chairs: Dr. Nicholas Kovach, Air Force Research Laboratory and Richard Henderson, Leidos)

CAS Focused Sessions:

  • Analog Devices and Processing (Chair: Dr. Jose Siva-Martinez, Texas A&M)
  • Cybersecurity and Trusted Systems (Chairs: Dr. Charles Cerny,   Dr. Matt Casto, and Dr. David Kapp, Air Force Research Laboratory)
  • Low SWaP Sensor Processing (Chairs: Kerry Hill, Air Force Research Laboratory and Al Scarpelli, Air Force Research Laboratory)
  • Emerging Electronics and Microsystems (Chairs: Dr. Soumyajit Mandal, Case Western Reserve University and Dr. Vamsy Chodavarapu, University of Dayton)
  • Digital Signal and Image Processing (Chairs: Dr. Eric Balster and Dr. Russell Hardie, University of Dayton)
  • Deep Learning and Artificial Intelligence (Chairs: Dr. Tarek Taha, University of Dayton and Dr. Nilesh Powar, University of Dayton Research Institute)

Industry Focused Session:

  • Panel on Innovation and Entrepreneurship (Chairs: Dr. Gary Scalzi, Air Force Research Laboratory, Phil Ratterman, UDRI and John French, Ohio Aerospace Institute)

Join our Mailing List – Stay informed with event news and updates!

Thank you to our 2018 NAECON Sponsors!



2018 Platinum Patrons:


2018 Gold Patrons: 2018 Silver Patron: 2018 Bronze Patrons:
Sponsors: Technical Sponsors: Collaborators: