The ITS World Congress Hall of Fame was created in 2010 to recognize luminaries and true thought leaders in the ITS field. The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to (a) an outstanding leader in the organizations they have led; (b) a thought leader in the ITS field; and (c) a champion of vision of ITS and its fulfilment within and beyond the ITS Community.
Lyle was inducted into the World Congress Hall of Fame through the Lifetime Achievement Award. Lyle has been involved in advanced transportation technology for most of his professional career. After joining the Federal Highway Administration in 1968, Lyle was involved for many years with major Research and development programs in vehicle-highway communications, in-vehicle navigation and information, traffic and freeway management, and automated vehicle control. He became a recognized leader in developing national and international support for intelligent transportation systems and technology. He was the Moderator of the two national Mobility 2000 workshops, composed of key national leaders from government, industry and academia, that was key in developing a national ITS vision and strategic plan in the early 1990’s. In 1991 he received the Transportation Research Board’s Roy W. Crum Distinguished Service Award. He retired in 1995 as Director of the FHWA Office of Safety and Traffic Operations R&D.