IEEE ITSS Best Dissertation Award

2016    First Prize
            José Ramón D. Frejo, University of Seville
            Advisor: Eduardo F. Camacho
            Model Predictive Control for Freeway Traffic Networks

            Second Prize
            Matthias Schreier, Technical University of Darmstadt
            Advisor: Jürgen Adamy
            Bayesian Environment Representation, Prediction, and Criticality Assessment for Driver Assistance Systems

            Second Prize
            Mohammad Shokrolah Shirazi, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
            Advisor: Brendan Morris
            Vision-Based Intersection Monitoring: Behavior Analysis & Safety Issues

2015    First Prize
            Mohsen Ramezani Ghalenoei, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
            Advisor: Nikolas Geroliminis
            Dissertation Title: Traffic Modeling Estimation and Control for Large-Scale Congested Urban Networks

            Second Prize
            Meng Wang, Delft University of Technology
            Advisor: Serge Hoogendoorn, Bart van Arem and Winnie Daamen
            Dissertation Title: Generic Model Predictive Control Framework for Advanced Driver Assistance Systems

            Third Prize
            Nanxiang Li, University of Texas, Dallas
            Advisor: Carlos Busso
            Dissertation Title: Modeling of Driver Behavior in Real World Scenarios Using Multiple Noninvasive Sensors

2014    First Prize
            Rahul Kala, Robotics and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, Indian Institute of Information Technology, Allahabad, India
            Advisor: Prof. Kevin Warwick, University of Reading, UK
            Title: Motion Planning for Multiple Autonomous Vehicles

            Second Prize
            Mehdi Keyvan-Ekbatani, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands
            Advisor: Markos Papageorgiou, Technical University of Crete, Greece
            Title: Real-Time Urban Traffic Control under Saturated Traffic Conditions

            Third Prize
            Prashanth L.A., SEQUEL project, INRIA Lille – Nord Europe, France
            Advisor: Shalabh Bhatnagar, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
            Title: Resource Allocation for Sequential Decision Making under Uncertainty: Studies in Vehicular Traffic Control, Service Systems, Sensor Networks and Mechanism Design

2013    First Prize
            Samah El-Tantawy
            Advisor: Prof. Baher Abduulhai
            University of Toronto, Canada
            Title: Multi-Agent Reinforcement Learning for Integrated Network of Adaptive Traffic Signal Controllers

            Second Prize
            Xiqun Chen
            Advisor: Prof. Qixin Shi/Li Li
            Tsinghua University, China
            Title: Stochastic Evolutions of Dynamic Traffic Flow: Modeling and Application

            Second Prize
            Manuel Fogue
            Advisor: Prof. Francisco J. Martinez/Piedad Garrido,
            University of Zaragoza, Spain
            Title: Design and Evaluation of a Traffic Safety System based on Vehicular Networks for the Next Generation
of Intelligent Vehicles

2012    First Prize
            Markus Enzweiler
            Univ. of Heidelberg
            Title: Compound Models for Vision-Based Pedestrian Recognition
            Advisor: Prof. Christoph Schnorr, Univ. of Heidelberg, and Prof. Dr. Dariu Gavrila, Universitat von Amsterdam

            Second Prize
            Anna Petrovskaya
            Stanford University, USA
            Title: Towards Dependable Robotic Perception
            Advisor: Prof. Oussama Khatib

            Second Prize
            Anastasios Kouvelas
            Technical University of Crete, Greece
            Title: Adaptive Fine-Tuning for Large-Scale Nonlinear Traffic Control Systems
            Advisor: Prof. Markos Papageorgiou

2011    First Prize
            Dr. Daniel B. Work
            Real-time estimation of distributed parameters systems: Application to traffic monitoring
            Advisor: Alexandre M. Bayen,
            University of California, Berkeley, USA.

            Second Prize
            Dr. Vicente Milanés
            Traffic management system based on V2X communication using automated vehicles
            PhD Advisors: Carlos González, Miguel Ángel Sotelo
            University of Alcalá, Madrid, Spain

2010    First Prize
            Dr. Brendan Morris
            Computer Vision and Robotics Research Laboratory
            University of California, San Diego
            Department of Electrical and computer Engineering

            Second Prize
            Dr. Thomas Paul Michalke
            Institut für Regelungstheorie und Robotik,
            TU Darmstadt

2009    First Prize
            Dr. Arne Kesting
            TU Dresden
            Title: Microscopic Modeling of Human and Automated Driving: Towards Traffic-Adaptive Cruise Control

            Second Prize
            Dr. Verena Schmid
            Vienna University
            Title: Trucks in Movement: Hybridization of Exact Approaches and Variable Neighborhood Search for the
Delivery of Ready-Mixed Concrete

            Second Prize
            Dr. Andrea D’Ariano
            TU Delft
            Title: Improving Real-Time Train Dispatching: Models, Algorithms and Applications

2008    First Prize
            Dr. Shinko Y. Cheng
            UC San Diego
            Title: A Multilevel Framework for Human Body Structure and Pose Estimation and Human Gesture Analysis
using Volumetric Scene Reconstructions with Applications in Driver Assistance Systems

            Second Prize
              Dr. Caspar Chorus
              TU Delft
              Title: Traveler Response to Information

2007    First Prize
            Dr. Thao Dang
            Karlsruhe University
            Title: Continuous Self-Calibration of Stereo Cameras

            Second Prize
             Dr. Yiting Liu
             Ohio State University
             Title: Applications of Wireless Communication in Traffic Networks Using a Hierarchical Hybrid System Model

2006    First Prize
            Dr. Shuming Tang
            Chinese Acad. of Sciences
            Title: A Preliminary Study for Basic Approaches in Artificial Transportation Systems

            Second Prize
             Dr. Jianlong Zhang
             Univ. Southern California
             Title: Practical Adaptive Control: Theory and Applications