Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Epistemic Injustice: have you ever experienced it?

April 28 @ 8:00 am - 5:00 pm CEST

Speaker: Tommaso Piazza -University of Pavia
Moderator: Norma Anglani -University of Pavia
Abstract :Philosophy has traditionally treated knowledge and justice as separate notions. Along the last 15 years or so, however, Miranda Fricker has been suggesting that they are not so separate, and that there are many ways in which questions of social identity and power impinge on our epistemic agency. One important case in point is what Miranda Fricker calls testimonial injustice. This distinctive kind of injustice occurs when a speaker S tells something to a hearer H, and H, due to an identity (e.g. racial or gender) prejudice, unduly deflates the level of credibility they give to S, thereby not taking what S is saying as seriously as it deserves to be taken. According to Fricker, when this happens S is wronged in her capacity as a giver of knowledge, and so is undermined in one capacity that is essential to human value.
The speaker will end up the talk with thoughts / open questions for the audience to elaborate and share possible strategies to react against this bias
·         Link to the event: 
Topic: ILC Networking Event supported by R8, WiE AG Italy, WiE AG Turkey, WiE-PELS
Time: Apr 29, 2021 04:00 PM (CEST) | 07:00 AM (PDT)
Join Zoom Meeting
https://ieee.zoom.us/j/96717015297?pwd=SUVQTzRYa3JPQTN3Y2JSMU1RbXh0dz09
Meeting ID: 967 1701 5297
Passcode: 702742
Find your local number: https://ieee.zoom.us/u/aDwfvykUh

·         Time and Timezone
04:00-05:00PM (CEST), April 29th 2021
07:00-08:00AM (PDT), April 29th 2021 

Details

Date:
April 28
Time:
8:00 am - 5:00 pm CEST