

IEEE Pulp & Paper Industry Committee Industry Applications Society 63rd Annual Pulp, Paper and Forest Industries Technical Conference Murano Hotel June 18-23, 2017 Tacoma, WA



James A. Rooks Memorial Grant



In recognition of Jim's life-long contributions to the IEEE, The Pulp & Paper Industry Committee of the IEEE Industry Applications Society has established the James A. Rooks Memorial Grant. Every year our committee celebrates Jim's relentless compassion to bring young engineers into the industry by sponsoring activities for students such as travel grants to PPIC, scholarships and webinars. As Jim personified excellence in engineering, so too will the next generation of engineers be better prepared to meet industry challenges through exposure to technical papers and tutorials at the conference, and interaction with leading practicing engineers. Proceeds to fund this initiative come from the James A. Rooks Memorial Fund established by the IEEE Foundation. You and/or your company can contribute to this fund by sending donations to; IEEE Foundation in memory of James A. Rooks, IEEE Development Office, 445 Hoes Lane, Piscataway, NJ 08854 or online at https://www.ieeefoundation.org/donate. The IEEE Foundation is a 501(c)(3) not for profit and may qualify for company matching gift programs.

James A. Rooks

¢= 000

List of Individual and Corporate Contributors to the James A. Rooks Memorial Endowment

President's Circle	\$5,000 and up				
Hawk IR Internationa	l Ltd. IEEE Ind	dustry Applications Soc	iety Rita Rook	s Rebecca Rooks	
VIP \$1,000 to \$4,999Dave & Terry DurocherBruce GravesEaton CorporationIris Power, LP		– Daleep C. Mohla Weyer Charlotte Rooks		rhaeuser Company Foundation	
Guarantor \$500	to \$999	-			
Anonymous(2) Charles Canty	Mark Higginson John Holmquist	Bob Jordan John Kay	Qual-Tech Engineers Schweitzer Labs	Richard H. Turner World Wide Technolog	vies
Tom & Linda Couch	Darren C. Honaker	Pat Link	Larry Thomas	Alex & Daisy Wu	
Benefactor \$100	to \$499				
Anonymous(1) Harry Anstey Rhonda Banks Vernon E. Beachum John M. Bentley John M. Briggs Richard G. Carle Emmitt O. Couch Greg W. Drewiske	Ron P. Driscoll Rob Entzminger Brenda Etzel Peter Famighetti H. L. Floyd Russell T. Ford Richard D. Graf William Guy Nick Hein	L. Stan Holt Ideal Systems, Inc. Christopher Jacobs Rory R. Johnson Walter V. Jones Roger Lawrence John R. Levine Blake A. Lloyd Robert D. Lorenz	Alan Lowe George R. Matto David Mazur Jerry Nothman Jerry Nuernberger Elton L. Parker Steve Pittman Duncan J. Rhodes Roland Roberge	Donna L. Rooks Ralph Shead Ned Simon William J. Stoick Larry G. Swearingen Martin J. Troy Anibal Valenzuela Mark J. Van Duser Arthur Williams	Lillian Williams Mark C. Wirfs Bob Yanniello Mark K. Zawadzki Dave Zimmer
Patron Less than Anonymous(1) Devendra Amin Peter R. Baen Robert Boteler Ray Crane Norman Danz James Davis Lana DeLeon Greg Drewiske Richard Dykstra Richard Field Janet George	\$100 James W. Gibson Bob Giese Donald Grey Steve Harker Jim Havlik Linda Hill Darren Honaker Warren S. Hopper Arthur H. Jackson Jubin Jackson Burt Judson Tae J. Kang	Kenneth Keeley Jongwan Kim Leonard J. Kroko Curtis Langer James Latham Sang Bin Lee Todd Legette Ronald R. Levert Blake Lloyd Patrick Malie John Malinowski Henry B. Martin	R. J. Matcovich Chad McLelland Ruth Menicosy Robert Montgomery Daniel Mullett Elsie R. Murphy Dennis Neitzel William T. Nolley Ron Northrop Larry Olsen Gail Palmer E. E. Papas	Edward G. Perkins James N. Phillips Craig M. Pinto Andy Posey Georgia Quinn Bill Reitzammer Paul Rouillier Steven Rudolph Delbert Seaver Dorothy R. Silver Glenn Smith Douglas Swier	Marna C. Thompson Martin Troy Edward Upchurch Marcelo E. Valdes Anibal Valenzuela Robert Vandenabeele Bill Vilcheck Allen Watson Irving G. Welsted Jim White Charles Yung

Donations listed are current through Jun 14, 2017. Contact davidbdurocher@ieee.org for updates or revisions





James A. Rooks Memorial Student Intern Award

This year marks the 11th consecutive year that we have proudly sponsored electrical engineering students to attend our annual industry conference. Young engineers working as interns for industry manufacturing companies are able to attend our annual conference at <u>no cost</u>. Proceeds to fund this initiative come from the James A Rooks Memorial Grant Fund established by the IEEE Foundation.

2017 Award Recipients:

Brock Kocyan is currently enrolled at Oregon State University in Corvallis, Oregon and working for Georgia-Pacific in Halsey, Oregon. His sponsor is John Joiner, Senior Staff Project Engineer at Georgia-Pacific in Halsey, Oregon. Brock is planning to graduate in December of 2017 with a Bachelor Degree in Electrical Engineering.

Chris Wall is currently a Senior at Kennesaw State University in Marietta, Georgia and working for Pratt Industries in Conyers, Georgia. His sponsor is John Levine, President of Levine Lectronics and Lectric in Marietta, Georgia. Chris is planning to graduate in May of 2018 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Electrical Engineering.

James A. Rooks Young Engineering Professionals Program

This year marks the fourth year we have provided partial financial sponsorships for young industry engineering professionals to attend our annual conference. This allows several young engineering professionals, working for industry manufacturing companies, to attend our annual conference at a low cost. Proceeds to fund this initiative come from the James A Rooks Memorial Grant Fund established by the IEEE Foundation

2017 Award Recipients:

Andrew Huff is an Electrical Engineer with the International Paper Springfield Mill in Springfield, Oregon. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Electrical Engineering from North Carolina State University in 2014.

Michael Meza is an Electrical Engineer with Easypower, LLC in Tualatin, Oregon. He graduated from Portland State University in 2015 with a degree in Electrical Engineering.

IEEE Foundation

As the philanthropic arm of IEEE, the IEEE Foundation is a leader in transforming lives through the power of technology and education.

The IEEE Foundation enables IEEE Programs that improve access to technology, enhance technological literacy, and support technical education and the IEEE professional community.

The IEEE Foundation is an organization qualified under U.S. Internal Revenue Code 501(c)(3). Charitable contributions to the IEEE Foundation are tax deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law in the United States. For other countries, please check with your local tax advisors.

To learn more, visit <u>www.ieeefoundation.org</u> or contact the IEEE Foundation to hold personal and confidential discussion by email at <u>donate@ieee.org</u> or telephone at +1 732-465-5871. The IEEE Foundation team will be happy to work with you to create a gift plan that suits your needs.