IEEE-IAS Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department

  • Contact us

    IPCSD Chair: Pericle Zanchetta (
    Webmaster: Anant Kumar Singh (
    IAS Administrator: Lynda Bernstein (



The IPCSD participates in the IAS and IEEE award programs, and many IPCSD members have been so recognized.  In addition, the IPCSD administers a specific, department-level award, the IEEE IAS Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department Gerald Kliman Innovator Award.  At the committee level, Best Paper Awards are presented to articles published under that committee’s responsibility. For any questions concerning IPCSD awards and the Kliman award in particular, please contact the IPCSD Award & Recognition chair.

Senior membership:  Did you know that with just 10 years of experience in the field, you are eligible to become an IEEE Senior Member?  More information here on the IEEE website.

Fellow nominations:  Members are encouraged to nominate their peers and mentors to become IEEE Fellows.  Details here on the IEEE website.  This presentation: Preparing a Successful Fellow Nomination, put together by the 2014 IAS and PELS Fellow committee chairs, also provides more information concerning the process.


IEEE IAS Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department Gerald Kliman Innovator Award:

The IEEE IAS Industrial Power Conversion Systems Department Gerald Kliman Innovator Award was established to honor innovators who contributed to the technical areas of this department. The award may be presented annually to an individual, for meritorious contributions to the advancement of power conversion technologies through innovations and their application to Industry. The technical field for this award includes, but is not limited to, Electrical Machines, Electrical Drives, Power Electronic systems and Power Electronic Devices. This Award was established in 2005 and is named in honor of Dr. Jerry Kliman, in memory of his many contributions and innovations to these technical areas.

The Kliman award is funded by General Electric whose contribution is gratefully acknowledged.

Details about the award are here. The deadline for nominations is generally in June, and the award presented at the following ECCE conference.

The call for award nominations has a submission deadline typically June 1st every year.  Links to the nomination forms are below.  Completed forms are to be sent to the IPCSD Award & Recognition chair.

Kliman Nomination Form 2020

Kliman Reference Form 2020

2019 Kliman Award Recipient

The recipient of 2019 Kliman award is Dr. Alex Qin Huang. He is is currently the Dula D. Cockrell Centennial Chair Professor in Engineering at University of Texas at Austin and the director of the Semiconductor Power Electronics Center (SPEC). Dr. Huang was a founding faculty member of the Virginia Tech’s CPES Engineering Research Center (ERC) and the founding director of NC State University FREEDM ERC. He was also the visionary leader that led to NCSU’s success in establishing the DOE PowerAmerica Institute in 2014.
Dr. Huang is a world-renowned expert of power semiconductor devices and power electronics. He has published more than 550 papers in journals and conferences, and is the inventor of more than 20 US patents including several patents on the Emitter turn-off (ETO) thyristor technology that received a prestigious R&D 100 award in 2003. Dr. Huang is also widely credited for his contribution in developing the Energy Internet concept and the Solid-State Transformer (SST) based Energy Router technology. His work on the SST has been named by MIT Technology Review as one of the world’s 10 most important emerging technologies in 2011. Dr. Huang is a fellow of IEEE and the general chair of IEEE ECCE 2012. He is also a fellow of the National Academy of Inventors. He has graduated more than 80 Ph.D. students and master students.

        Dr. Alex Qin Huang

Current and Past Kliman awardees:

2018    Fei “Fred” Wang
2017    Richard Lukaszewski
2016    Jason Lai
2015    Manoj Shah
2014    Jan Abraham Ferreira
2013    Fang Zheng Peng
2012    Thomas Habetler
2011    Leo Lorenz
2010    William Peterson
2009    John Miller
2008    Ira J. Pitel
2007    Bruno Lequesne
2006    Kaushik Rajashekara
2005    Russel J. Kerkman