IEEE Dayton Section

Founded in 1943 * Sponsor of NAECON

  • IEEE Dayton Section

  • Archives

  • Tags


Archive for the ‘Events’ Category

Dayton Section IEEE & AFOSR Windows on Science Lecture Series

Friday, July 10th, 2020

Dayton Section IEEE & AFOSR Windows on Science Lecture Series Present

“Cryptanalysis Perspectives: Past, Present & Future”

Invited Speakers: Ms. Deborah Anderson & Sir Dermot Turing

To view complete event details, please visit:

Attendance and Connection Details

Due to COVID-19 guidelines, the number of attendees allowed into Kenney Hall is limited to 50 for this event.

If you have interest in attending in person, please E-mail Ms. Joanne Maurice at, so that you are provided an assigned seat.

The following YouTube link has been created for those who are attending the event virtually:

It is currently open and provides a countdown message for the event.  It is suggested that you test the connection ahead of the event.

Additional instructions will be provided on the morning of the event to enable virtual Q&A and access to a survey for feedback regarding the event.


Date and Time


  • Air Force Institute of Technology
  • Wright Patterson AFB, Ohio
  • United States 45433
  • Room Number: Kenney Hall




Sir Dermot Turing

Sir Dermot Turing


Lecture #1: Who broke Enigma?



Ms. Deborah Ann Anderson

Ms. Deborah Ann Anderson


Lecture #2: Early Career Advanced Research of Joseph Desch



All Times are EDT


0830 – 0900         VTC/PexIP/YouTube Link Opens for Test

0900 – 0915       Opening Remarks             Dr. Charles Cerny

0915 – 1000       Lecture #1: Who broke Enigma?                Sir Dermot Turing

1000 – 1015       Q&A Session      All

1015 – 1025        Break

1025 – 1055       Lecture #2: Early Career Advanced Research of Joseph Desch       Ms. Deborah Anderson

1055 – 1110       Q&A Session      All

1110 – 1120       Closing Remarks & Adjourn         Dr. Charles Cerny

2019 Dayton Section Awards Banquet

Wednesday, February 13th, 2019

Come join us for the 2019 IEEE Dayton Section Annual Banquet!

WHEN: April 27, 2019, 5:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Sinclair Ponitz Center, Charity Earley Auditorium

RSVP by April 20:  Dave Perez or 937-307-8954

COSTS:    (Pay at door; parking included)
$10 IEEE students
$15 IEEE Members, Non-IEEE students
$20 Guests of IEEE members
$25 Non-IEEE members
(Complementary admission for all award winners plus one guest and nominators of award winners)
5:00 – 6:00:    Registration, Social Hour, & Science Fair Displays
6:00 – 6:45:    Dinner
6:45 – 7:30:   Keynote Talk: John Yaglenski, IEEE-USA Director of Communications and Information Technology, “The Road to 1176 – Life Lessons, Love & Leadership”
7:30 – 9:00:    Awards & Recognition:
Dr. Fritz J. Russ Bio-Engineering Award
Harrell V. Noble Award
Chapter Awards
Recognition of New IEEE Life Members
Krishna M. Pasala, Ph.D. Memorial  Scholarship
Outstanding Students – IEEE Student Chapters
Science Fair Winners

For more details visit:

We hope to see you there!

Silicon Carbide (SiC) Materials and Devices Workshop

Saturday, December 29th, 2018

On 13-14 Dec 2018 the IEEE Dayton Photonics Society co-sponsored with Air Force Research Laboratory and Case Western Reserve University a workshop on Silicon Carbide Materials and Devices at the Wright Brothers Institute Tec^Edge facility in Dayton, OH.

The event included 21 oral presentations organized into 5 sessions and 8 poster presentations.  The topics included materials fabrication, characterization, and processing, SiC microelectronic and MEMS devices, and quantum and nanophotonic structures.  Approximately 60+ individuals attended (25 IEEE members) from across academia, government and industry.

Additional details and the full agenda are available at the workshop website