IEEE Dayton Section

Founded in 1943 * Sponsor of NAECON

  • IEEE Dayton Section

  • Archives

  • Tags

July 10th, 2020

Dayton Section IEEE & AFOSR Windows on Science Lecture Series Present

“Cryptanalysis Perspectives: Past, Present & Future”

Invited Speakers: Ms. Deborah Anderson & Sir Dermot Turing

To view complete event details, please visit:

Attendance and Connection Details

Due to COVID-19 guidelines, the number of attendees allowed into Kenney Hall is limited to 50 for this event.

If you have interest in attending in person, please E-mail Ms. Joanne Maurice at, so that you are provided an assigned seat.

The following YouTube link has been created for those who are attending the event virtually:

It is currently open and provides a countdown message for the event.  It is suggested that you test the connection ahead of the event.

Additional instructions will be provided on the morning of the event to enable virtual Q&A and access to a survey for feedback regarding the event.


Date and Time


  • Air Force Institute of Technology
  • Wright Patterson AFB, Ohio
  • United States 45433
  • Room Number: Kenney Hall




Sir Dermot Turing

Sir Dermot Turing


Lecture #1: Who broke Enigma?



Ms. Deborah Ann Anderson

Ms. Deborah Ann Anderson


Lecture #2: Early Career Advanced Research of Joseph Desch



All Times are EDT


0830 – 0900         VTC/PexIP/YouTube Link Opens for Test

0900 – 0915       Opening Remarks             Dr. Charles Cerny

0915 – 1000       Lecture #1: Who broke Enigma?                Sir Dermot Turing

1000 – 1015       Q&A Session      All

1015 – 1025        Break

1025 – 1055       Lecture #2: Early Career Advanced Research of Joseph Desch       Ms. Deborah Anderson

1055 – 1110       Q&A Session      All

1110 – 1120       Closing Remarks & Adjourn         Dr. Charles Cerny

June 7th, 2020

The Dayton Section is soliciting your recommendations for the following Executive Officer positions in 2021:

– Dayton Section Chair

– Dayton Section Vice Chair

– Dayton Section Secretary

– Dayton Section Treasurer

The terms of office shall be for two years starting on January 1, 2021. An individual must be of Member grade or higher or a Graduate Student Member to be eligible to hold elected office. Any member eligible to vote in the Dayton Section elections may nominate an individual for office, and nominating yourself for an office is strongly encouraged. Any individual nominated for office should be willing to serve for the full 2 years; we therefore recommend discussing the nomination with the individual prior to submission. The duties for each position are defined in the MGA Operations Manual, which may be found at the IEEE website ((, but a brief summary is also included below.

Here are some important dates for this nominations and elections process:

– The call for nominations starts the week of July 20 and closes August 31.

– From 1 Sept – 30 Sept  Nominations are vetted by nomination committee and bios collected

– From 1 Oct – 31 Oct Candidate bios are available for review on Dayton section website

– The voting starts 1 Nov and closes 16 Nov.

– The 2021-2022 Executive Officers will be announced by 1 December 2020.

Please submit all nominations by sending an email with a bio to  You may send an email to this same address if you have any questions regarding the annual nomination/election process. Please use this bio template for your input.  Submitting the form gives the Section approval to post the bio on the Section web site. As a reminder, you or the person you are nominating are agreeing to serve for the full 2-year term of the office and will have to commit time to perform duties of the office.


Officer duties


Section Chair/Vice Chair *

  • Presides at meetings of the Section and the Section Executive Committee.
  • Operates the Section to maximize satisfaction of Section member needs with the resources available.
  • Develops and presents plans for meeting members needs to the Executive Committee for review.
  • Identifies appropriate volunteers and presents their appointments to the Executive Committee for review.
  • Prepares an annual report of Section Activities for submission to the Region.
  • Represents the Section at all appropriate IEEE gatherings.

* The Section Vice Chair fulfills the duties of the Chair in his or her absence, and assists and supports the Chair as required/assigned.

Section Treasurer

  • Accurately maintains financial records for Section.
  • Maintains bank accounts of Section funds.
  • Prepares the annual budget for submission to the Section Executive Committee.
  • Makes disbursements in accordance with the approved budget.
  • Refers expenses outside the budget to the Section Chair for action.
  • Ensures that all Section expenditures and disbursements are made in accordance with IEEE policy.
  • Prepares financial reports for the Section Chair, Section Executive Committee and Regional Director.
  • Submits annual report of financial activity to the IEEE Operations Center and provides follow-up where necessary to confirm that the report has been approved.

Section Secretary

  • Accurately records minutes of all Section meetings.
  • Distributes agenda and meeting notices for all Section meetings.
  • Reports all Section and subunit meetings to the IEEE Regional Activities Department using the proper forms.
  • Notifies the IEEE Regional Activities Department of all changes in Section and subunit Officers.

We look forward to hearing from you!

December 29th, 2019

Krishna M. Pasala, Ph.D. Memorial Scholarship Call

Dr. Krishna M. PasalaTo pay tribute to the late Professor Krishna M. Pasala, the IEEE Krishna M. Pasala, Ph.D. Memorial Scholarship was established by the IEEE Dayton Section in 2012. This annual Scholarship recognizes the academic excellence of one graduate student within the Electrical and Computer Engineering department of the University of Dayton. The student must be an active IEEE member. The scholarship award (up to $1000) may be used toward the purchase of books or other educational materials associated with education innovation.

Details, criteria, complete instructions, and application form are available at:  Krishna M. Pasala, Ph.D. Memorial Scholarship.

Applications are due January 31, 2020.

The winner will be recognized at the IEEE Dayton Section Awards banquet on April 25, 2020.