Steering Committee

Javier Gozalvez Steering Committee - IEEE Connected Vehicles

Javier Gozalvez, Chair. Javier is an Associate Professor and Director of the UWICORE laboratory at the Universidad Miguel Hernández (UMH) of Elche in Spain. At UWICORE, he leads research activities in the areas of vehicular networks, device-centric wireless networks, and wireless industrial communications. He is an active the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society, and currently serves the society as Executive Vice President, Distinguished Lecturer, and Mobile Radio Senior Editor of IEEE Vehicular Technology Magazine. Javier established the IEEE International Symposium on Wireless Vehicular communications (WiVeC).

Fabrice Steering Committee - IEEE Connected Vehicles

Fabrice Labeau is an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at McGill University, where he also holds the NSERC/Hydro-Québec Industrial Research Chair in Interactive Information Infrastructure for the Power Grid.  His research focuses on signal processing and its applications to different domain, including wireless communications and networks, healthcare and power grids. He is currently the President of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society.


Onur Altintas is a Fellow of Toyota InfoTechnology Center in Tokyo. From 1999 to 2001 he was with Toyota Motor Corporation and was also a visiting researcher at Telcordia Technologies. From 2001 to 2004 he was with Toyota InfoTechnology Center USA. He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from Orta Dogu Teknik Universitesi, Turkey, and his Ph.D. degree from the University of Tokyo, Japan; all in electrical engineering. He is the co-founder and general co-chair of IEEE Vehicular Networking Conference. He also serves as IEEE ITS Magazine Associate Editor and IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology Connected Vehicle Series Guest Editor. He is an IEEE VTS Distinguished Lecturer.


Yaser P. Fallah is an Assistant Professor and Director of the Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) laboratory at West Virginia University, USA. He is a recipient of an NSF CAREER award and leads research activities in the areas of transportation CPS, wireless vehicular networks, automated vehicle safety and efficiency systems, and industrial networks. Yaser has served as program co-chair for 2011 and 2014 editions of IEEE International Symposium on Wireless Vehicular communications. He currently leads several connected vehicle research projects sponsored by automotive industry and US-DoT.


David G. Michelson is with the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering at the University of British Columbia where he leads the Radio Science Lab and serves as Co-Director of the AURORA Connected Vehicles Technology Testbed.  He is a member of the Boards of Governors of the IEEE Communications and Vehicular Technology Societies, and represents Commission F – Radiowave Propagation and Remote Sensing – on the Canadian National Committee of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI). He served as General Co-Chair of IEEE VTC 2014 Fall and is currently serving as General Co-Chair of IEEE APS/URSI 2015. EAI TridentCom 2015 and IEEE ETHICS 2016.


Elisabeth Uhlemann, Malardalen University, Sweden. Dr. Uhlemann is an associated professor at Malardalen University, Västerås, Sweden. She was with Halmstad University, Sweden, working with wireless vehicular communications together with Volvo in several European projects such as CVIS, Safespot, Pre-Drive C2X. She contributed to the European ITS communications architecture and participated as technical expert in standardization within ETSI TC ITS. She serves as a senior editor for IEEE VT Magazine in the area of Connected Vehicles and organizes a yearly workshop on Wireless Vehicular Communications at Halmstad University, funded by VTS. She is a senior member of the IEEE and vice-chair of the Swedish VT/COM/IT chapter.