Home of the Columbus, Ohio IEEE Power & Energy Society IEEE


The Columbus PES chapter operates through the dedicated efforts of its volunteer officer team.  If you’d like to assist, please contact us at any time. Whether it’s help planning a single event, providing website design, or becoming an official officer, any help is appreciated! Email cbus.pes.webmaster@gmail.com

2022-2023 IEEE PES Columbus Officers

Chair: Austin Gaunce (American Electric Power)

Vice-Chair: Daniel Chionuma (Burns & McDonnell)

Treasurer:  Daniel Chionuma (Burns & McDonnell)

Secretary:  Rajarshi (Raj) Roychowdhury (AES Ohio)

Advisor:  Richard Smelker (American Electric Power)

Immediate Past Chair:  Prakash Shrestha (American Electric Power)

Past IEEE Columbus PES Chapter Chairs:

2021-2022: Prakash Shrestha (AEP)

2019-2020:  Xuan Wu (AEP)

2017-2018:  Jerod Marker (AEP Transmission)

2016:  Mike George (AEP Transmission)

2014-2015:  Ryan Dolan (AEP Transmission)

2011-2013:  Richard Smelker (AEP Transmission)

2009-2010:  Howard Jones (AEP)

2006-2008:  John Lauletta (Exacter)

2005:  Marty Hohl (AEP)

2004:  Bev Laios (AEP)

2002-2003:  Ralph Hoffman

2001:  John Burger (AEP)

1997-2000:  Lynn Congos

1995-1997:  Bill Kaufman

1993-1995:  Jeff Fleeman (AEP)

1991-1993:  Ben Mehraban (AEP)

1990-1991:  Jim Schnegg

1989-1990:  John Lauletta

1988-1989:  J.R. Sanders

1987-1988:  Michael Hajny

1986-1987:  Ajit Kadakia

1985-1986:  David Hartnagel

1984-1985:  Tai Wong

1983-1984:  Bill Mekolites

1982-1983:  John Werner (AEP)

1981-1982:  Robert Paulus


The IEEE Columbus Power and Energy Society Chapter was formed March 16, 1968.