Columbia Section elected and appointed volunteers are listed below.

IEEE Region 3 (Southeastern USA & Jamaica)
IEEE Columbia Section

City of Columbia, South Carolina

IEEE Columbia Section was formed January 31, 1972. In 2018, the first chapter of an IEEE Society was formed, the Power and Energy Society Chapter.

IEEE’s membership is composed of engineers, scientists, and allied professionals. These include computer scientists, software developers, information technology professionals, physicists, medical doctors, and many others in addition to our electrical and electronics engineering core. We are undergraduate and graduate students, mentors, educators, scholars, researchers, innovators, practitioners, and volunteers in more than 160 countries and who inspire a global community through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.

Membership in Columbia section includes Medical Doctors among other professionals using technology for humanity.

We have open call for membership. However, it is not necessary to be an IEEE member to visit one of our Technical Sessions.

Columbia Section Administrative Committee (AdCom)


Executive Committee (ExCom)

Society Chapter

 Power and Energy Society

Standing Committees

  • Awards & Recognition Coordinator
  • Membership Development Chair
  • Professional Activities (PACE) Chair

Affinity Groups

  • Fellows Elevation Committee
  • Senior Member Elevation Committee
  • Consultants Network (CN) Liaison
  • Government Liaison
  • Industry Liaison
  • University Liaison
  • Women In Engineering
  • Young Professionals
  • Young Professionals, Representative
    William K. Bledsoe
  • Section Student Representatives (SSR)