IEEE Cedar Rapids Section


Manas Roy Receives Region 4 Outstanding Professional Award

Dr. Manas Roy receives IEEE Outstanding Professional award!

By: Himanshu Rawell

Dr. Manas Roy is presently an IEEE Volunteer and Life Senior Member of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). He is also the Chairperson of the IEEE Cedar Rapids Section Microwave and Theory Techniques (MTT) Chapter.  Jim Reiss, IEEE Region 4 Chairman presented the award to Manas on January 21st, 2011 at the IEEE Region 4 (Central USA consisting of 10 states) meeting in Minneapolis, MN.  The award recognizes Manas’s designs and technological concepts which have contributed to several state of the art devices and technology advancements.

Dr. Roy received his Doctorate at University of Montpellier, France for his work on Surface Acoustic Wave (SAW) devices which are key components in mobile phones.

In his long career spanning several prestigious civilian and military research centers including Rockwell Collins, AT&T Bell Labs, Motorola, and Northrop Grumman. Dr. Roy designed and developed miniature tunable filters for military radios, invented SAW delay filters for cellular base stations, and developed real time analog signal processors for military communications.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.