Minutes of the meeting Annual General Meeting-2018 IEEE Bhubaneswar Sub-Section

Date: 20.01.2018

Venue: KGP Campus, IIT Bhubaneswar

The house granted leave of absence to Prof P.K.Dash chairman and Prof Ajit Kumar Panda, EC member.

Prof G. Panda chaired the meeting and in his opening remarks expressed his desire that the members must work together to see that Bhubaneswar sub section gets elevated to a full Section.

The house congratulated Dr Samantaray for being awarded the best volunteer award from India Council for 2017.

The house discussed the following issues:

- 1. Executive meetings as per Section guidelines to be schedules 6 times per year.
- 2. The financial status for the year 2017 was presented and the same will be placed before the EC meeting after audit.
- 3. The technical co-sponsorship of the conference at KIIT Bhubaneswar has been approved and the application will be forwarded to EEE Kolkata section for further consideration.
- 4. Dr Samantaray in his summary reported for 2016 and 17 stated that the sub section held 8 technical talks during 2016. In 2017 it was 9 plus one DLP by PES chapter. The house resolved to maintain same level of activity or better in 2018.

5. Membership Drive:

An all round membership drive will have following target:

Institute	rarget
UCE Burla	50
ITER, BBSR	150
KIIT, BBSR	100
C V Raman institute, BBSR	30
IGIT, BBS	60
SIT, BBSR	40
IIIT, BBSR	20
OEC, BBSR	15
CET, BBSR	20
NIST, Berhampur	100

TCS/IONFOSYS- BBSR To report the existing strength

- 6. Members suggested that institutes should display notices from IEEE BBSR sub-section in the notice board of the institute. Rather there can be one notice board for IEEE activities. The names of IEEE office bearers, student branch faculty advisor must be displayed.
- 7. All institutes/organizations to provide the existing membership list and contact details of the IEEE members to be uploaded to the Web site.
- 8. The website will be upgraded and latest information will be placed, An Face Book account will be opened for the sub-section.
- 9. The student chapter activities will be planned and executed in 2018 (Mr Ankit Dave)
- 10. The WIE chapter was requested to get an event of societal relevance organized.

11. Activities:

- a. NWET-2018 at Silicon Institute of Technology, Bhubaneswar
- b. A project competition for UG/PG students to be organized at ITER, Bhubaneswar
- c. An IEEE conference will be organized at ITER Bhubaneswar
- d. A two day workshop will be organized at IGHIT Saranga.
- e. The next EC meeting will be organized at IGIT Saranga
- f. A student colloquium will be organized at IIT Bhubaneswar

12. Society chapters:

- a. Communication chapter (Dr Priyadarshi Kanungo, CV Raman Institite)
- b. Computer Chapter (Dr Pradyuman Tripathy, SIT and Dr Jibitesh Mishra, CET)

13. Office Bearer Selection:

The house appreciated the work done by the outgoing committee whose term came to an end on 20.01.2018. A new committee was elected as per the by laws.

The complete house participated in the unanimous selection of office bearers for IEEE BBSR sub-section for 2018 which were then proposed and seconded by the members as follows:

	Position	Proposed	Seconded
Chair	Prof. G Panda	Dr Priyadarshi Kanungo	Dr Harish Sahoo
Vice-Chair	Prof A K Tripathy	Dr Ramprasad Panda	Dr D P Dogra
Secretary	Dr S R Samantaray	Dr Sujata Chakravarty	Ms Umamani Subudhi
Treasurer	Dr D P Dogra	Mr Ankit Dave	Dr Tapas Panigrahi

Members:

Prof P K Dash (Immediate Past President), SOA University

Prof R V Raja Kumar- IIT BBSR(Patron)

Prof Ajit Kumar Panda- NIST Berhampur

Prof D P Acharya- NIT Rourkela

Prof Harish Sahoo- VSSUT Burla

Dr Debi Prasad Das- IMMT

Prof L N Tripathy- IGIT Saranga

Dr Bhagbat Panda- KIIT BBSR

Prof Tapas Kumar Panigrahi, IIIT BBSR

Mr Ankit Dave, Infosys (Chair, Student Activities)- IIT BBSR

Prof Jayashree Ratnam-SOA University

Dr Sujata Chakravarty(Chair, Women in Engineering)- OEC BBSR

Mrs Umamani Subudhi, IIIT Bhubaneswar

Dr Ram Prasad Panda, SIT Bhubaneswar

Dr Badri Narayan Sahoo- ITER, SOA University

Dr Raman Agrawalla, TCS

Dr Jibitesh Mishra, CET Bhubaneswar

Dr Priyadarshi Kanungo, C V Raman Institute of Technology

Dr Pradyumna Tripathy, SIT Bhubaneswar

Students contact:-

Mr Ankit Dave the new in charge 'students Affairs' delivered a short speech on procedure involved in opening of students branch, creating new societies/ chapter and IEEE benefits. Secretary announced that Institutes may inform Mr Ankit as a single point contact for all student branch related issues.

The new Chairman Prof Panda in his opening remarks expected more participation from younger faculty members and students. He requested Institutes to invite senior members who could motivate the students and help in the membership drive.

The meeting ended with chairman thanking the members who attended the AGM.