IEEE Benelux COM/VT Jt. Chapter



IEEE Benelux Joint Chapter on Communications and Vehicular Technology





November 29th, 2019

ESA Technical Research Center (ESTEC), Noordwijk, The Netherlands

The IEEE Symposium on Communications and Vehicular Technology (IEEE SCVT) is an annual event organized by the IEEE Benelux Joint Chapter on Communications and Vehicular Technology. It is our pleasure to invite you to the 26th edition of IEEE SCVT scheduled to be held at the ESA/ESTEC in Noordwijk (NL) on November 29, 2019. The Symposium is aimed at presenting and discussing the latest scientific and technical advances in communication systems and vehicular communication technology. The event will consist of invited talks, and oral and poster presentations of contributed abstracts.


Please use this link to register for the event. The deadline is 27 November 2019.


The workshop will be held at the Space Research and Technology Centre of the European Space Agency (ESA/ESTEC).
Keplerlaan 1
2201 AZ, Noordwijk (The Netherlands)

General telephone number:
Phone: +31 71 565 6565
Fax: +31 71 565 6040


By car
From Den Haag (The Hague): take the A4 (direction Amsterdam) and exit at “Leiden”. Follow the N206 towards Katwijk and Haarlem. Take the exit “Katwijk Noord”. From there follow signs to “ESTEC” (small white squares).

From Amsterdam: take the A4 (direction Den Haag-Rotterdam) then at the junction follow the A44. Take the exit “Noordwijk-Voorhout”, continue to Noordwijk and from there, follow signs to “ESTEC”.

The following site provides a planner for your route to ESTEC from any place in Europe. Please use the following address details:
Address: Keplerlaan 1
Postal Code: 2201 AZ
City: Noordwijk ZH

By train
Please note that the nearest railway station to ESTEC is Leiden Centraal. From Leiden Centraal station, take the number 33 bus to Katwijk. The bus stops in front of the ESTEC entrance gate. Please note that this bus leaves twice an hour during peak periods and only once an hour during normal hours. Journey time is approx. 30 minutes.

Workshop program (IEEE Benelux Chapter 2019)

9:00 – 09:30 Registration and Welcome Speech
09:30 – 10:15 “5G Services and Opportunities for Satellite” – Toon Norp (TNO)
10:15 – 10:30 Coffee break
10:30 – 12:00 #1 Technical papers Session (5 papers)
12:00 – 12:45 “Machine-learning applied to satellite ground systems” – Dieter Duyck (ST Engineering Europe)
12:45 – 13:45 Lunch break
13:45 – 14:45 Visit in the Erasmus Bay
14:45 – 15:30 “A Prospect in Wireless Research: Embracing Heterogeneous Connectivity” – Petar Popovski (Aalborg University)
15:30 – 17:15 #2 Technical papers Session (6 papers)
17:15 – 17:30 Wrap-up and Closing

#1 Technical Session

# Title


Waveform Design in MIMO Radar Systems


Optimum Design for Sparse FDA-MIMO Automotive Radar


Tracking Road Users by Cooperative Fusion of Radar and Camera Sensors


An RSS Approximation for Visible Light Positioning in the Presence of Orientation Uncertainty


Step detection using LSTM networks

#2 Technical Session




An Energy-Aware Modeling Analysis on Next-Generation Passive Optical Networks


On the Relationship between Energy-Saving and Security in EPONs: a Model Checking Approach


Intrusion Detection Using Machine Learning: A Deep Learning approach


Joint Scheduling and Precoding for Frame-Based Multigroup Multicasting in Satellite Communications


MM-Based Solution for Partially Connected Hybrid Transceivers with Large Scale Antenna Arrays


Massive MIMO Indoor Localization with a 64-element Uniform Linear Array



Paper submission invitation

You are invited to submit extended abstracts (up to 2 pages) for paper-less industry presentations or ongoing work presentations according to the deadlines given below. Accepted abstracts will be included in a book of abstracts and scheduled in lecture and poster sessions. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Techniques and Technology:

  • Robust transmitter and receiver designs
  • MIMO, multi-user detection & diversity techniques
  • Network robustness
  • Reliability of wireless access and networking
  • Network coding and physical Layer security
  • Location aware applications
  • Energy harvesting
  • Energy efficient localization
  • Communication theory
  • Full duplex radios
  • Channel characterization and modeling
  • Coding, modulation and synchronization
  • Quality of service and quality of experience
  • Routing protocols

Communication Systems and Networks:

  • Ad-hoc and sensor networks
  • Cellular and wireless networks
  • Optical communication and networks
  • Self-organizing networks
  • Personal and body area networks
  • Very High Throughput Satellites
  • Massive M2M/IoT over satellite
  • Vehicular communications
  • Cognitive and cooperative communications
  • Smart grid communications and control
  • Next generation mobile, broadband and broadcast satellite systems
  • 5G paradigm

The accepted and actually presented papers and posters of the conference will not be submitted for inclusion into IEEE Xplore.

=== Important dates ===

September 09, 2019: Extended Abstract submission deadline
October 07, 2019: Notification of acceptance
November 11, 2019: Camera-ready extended abstract submission deadline
November 29, 2019: Symposium

=== Paper submission ===

The organizing committee invites contributions in the form of extended abstracts of minimally 1 page and maximally 2 pages long, in standard IEEE two-column conference paper format. The abstract should be written in English. Examples of results, illustrations and references should be included. The first page should contain title, name(s) of author(s) with contact person identified, address, telephone, e-mail address, and organization affiliation.

Direct link to submission in EDAS:

We welcome your contributions and look forward to your participation at IEEE SCVT 2019.

=== Awards ===

A best student paper award will be given. To qualify for the award, a student has to be the first author of the paper and present the paper himself/herself.

=== Organising Committee ===

General chairs

Nader Alagha, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
Stefano Cioni, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
Nele Noels, Ghent University (BE)

Chapter Executive Committee

  • Chair: Heidi Steendam, Ghent University (BE)
  • Vice-Chair: Homayoun Nikookar, Netherlands Defence Academy (NL)
  • Treasurer: Sofie Pollin, KU Leuven (BE)
  • Secretary: Nadar Alagha, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
  • Webmaster: Joel Grotz, SES Satellites (LU)
  • Chris Blondia, University of Antwerp (BE)
  • Fernando Kuipers, Delft University of Technology (NL)
  • Jan Haagh, Eindhoven University of Technology (NL)
  • Guy Leduc, Université de Liège (BE)
  • Ingrid Moerman, University of Gent and iMinds (BE)
  • Laurent Schumacher, University of Namur (BE)
  • Bhavani Shankar, University of Luxembourg (LU)
  • Claude Oestges, Université Catholique de Louvain
  • Bruno Quoitin, Université de Mons
  • Mamoun Guenach, IMEC Leuven (BE)
  • Stefano Cioni, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
  • Mitra Nasri, Delft University of Technology (NL)