IEEE Benelux Joint Chapter on Communications and Vehicular Technology




Monday, November 12, 2018


The IEEE Symposium on Communications and Vehicular Technology (IEEE SCVT) is an annual event organized by the IEEE Benelux Joint Chapter on Communications and Vehicular Technology. It is our pleasure to invite you to the 25th edition of IEEE SCVT scheduled to be held at the Ghent University in the city of Ghent (Belgium) on November 12, 2018. The Symposium is aimed at presenting and discussing the latest scientific and technical advances in communication systems and vehicular communication technology. The event will consist of invited talks, and oral and poster presentations of contributed abstracts.

You are invited to submit extended abstracts (up to 2 pages) for paper-less industry presentations or ongoing work presentations according to the deadlines given below. Accepted abstracts will be included in a book of abstracts and scheduled in lecture and poster sessions.


The final Program is available here: Final Program of SCVT 2018

The event registration is possible online at this address: IEEE 25th SCVT Benelux Registration

Venue information can be found here: Travel info and venue


Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


Techniques and Technologies Communication Systems and Networks
Robust Transmitter and Receiver Design Ad-hoc and sensor networks
Reliable radio access techniques Cellular and wireless networks
Network robustness Optical communication and networks
Reliability of wireless access and networking Self-Organising networks
Network coding and physical Layer security Personal and body area networks
Location aware applications Satellite communications
Energy harvesting Machine-to-machine communications
Energy efficient localization Vehicular communications
Communication theory Cognitive and cooperative communications
Full duplex radios Smart grid communications and control
Channel characterisation and modeling Internet of things
Coding and modulation 5G paradigm
Quality of service and quality of experience SWIPT
Routing protocols Network science


 Important Dates:

  • September 1, 2018: Submission of the extended abstracts
  • October 1, 2018: Notifications of acceptance
  • October 27, 2018: Submission of the camera-ready abstracts
  • November 12, 2018: Symposium


Registration is open


Submission guidelines

  • Chair: Heidi Steendam, Ghent University
  • Vice-chair: Homayoun Nikookar, Netherlands Defense Academy
  • Treasurer: Sofie Pollin, KU Leuven
  • Secretary: Nader Alagha, European Space Technology Centre
  • Webmaster: Joel Grotz, SES
  • Chris Blondia, University of Antwerp
  • Fernando Kuipers, Delft University of Technology
  • Jan Haagh, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Guy Leduc, Université de Liège
  • Ingrid Moerman, Ghent University and IMEC
  • Laurent Schumacher, University of Namur
  • Bhavani Shankar, University of Luxembourg
  • Claude Oestges, Université Catholique de Louvain
  • Bruno Quoitin, Université de Mons
  • Mamoun Guenach, Bell Labs, Nokia Belgium

Chapter Executive Committee
Heidi Steendam, and Nele Noels, (tel. 0032 9 264 34 26).