IEEE Benelux COM/VT Jt. Chapter


SCVT 2017

The 24th IEEE SCVT symposium takes place in Leuven, Belgium  the 14th November 2017


November 14th, 2017

University of Leuven, Belgium



Conference Program


The IEEE Symposium on Communications and Vehicular Technology (IEEE SCVT) is an annual event organized by the IEEE Benelux Joint Chapter on Communications and Vehicular Technology. It is our pleasure to invite you to the 24th edition of IEEE SCVT scheduled to be held at the University of Leuven in the city of Leuven on November 14, 2017. The Symposium is aimed at presenting and discussing the latest scientific and technical advances in communication systems and vehicular communication technology.

This year, we will show you the extreme capabilities offered today by wireless communication. On the one hand, we will focus on extremely low power, battery free operation, enabled by Simultaneous Wireless Information and Power Transfer (SWIPT). A first keynote speaker, dr. B. Clerckx from Imperial College London will address Massive SWIPT. We will also have a special session dedicated to techniques and technologies that support the SWIPT paradigm.

On the other hand, wireless communication technology is promising data speeds up to 10 Gbps, that could exceed the capabilities of wireless fixed access sooner than expected, by relying on mmWave communication. While the technology is challenged by severe propagation conditions, and in parallel extreme implementation complexity, we see that successful field tests are currently showing that both can be overcome. A second keynote from imec will explain their pioneering and industry proven mmWave technology. We will also have a special panel session dedicated to the question ‘Fixed Wireless Access or Fixed Wired Access?’.

The full Conference Program is available.

The Registration is open also.


Call for Paper (closed)

Accordingly, IEEE SCVT 2017 solicits papers addressing relevant scientific and technical advances in communication systems and vehicular communication technology. Topics include, but are not limited to :


Communication Systems and Networks Techniques and Technology
Ad-hoc and sensor networks Robust transmitter and receiver designs
Cellular and wireless networks Reliable radio access techniques
Optical networks Network robustness
Self-organizing networks Reliability of Wireless access and networking
Personal and body area networks Network Coding and Physical Layer security
Satellite communications Location aware applications
Machine-to-Machine communications Energy harvesting
Vehicular communications Energy efficient localization
Cognitive and Cooperative Communications Communication theory
Smart grid communications and control Full duplex radios
Internet of Things Channel characterization and modeling
5G Paradigm Coding and modulation
SWIPT Quality of Service and Quality of Experience
Network science Routing protocols

The accepted and actually presented papers of the conference will be submitted for inclusion into IEEE Xplore (No-Show Policy).

Important dates

  • September 22, 2017: Paper submission deadline (via EDAS) (closed)
  • October 20, 2017: Notification of acceptance (closed)
  • October 27, 2017: Camera-ready paper submission deadline
  • November 14, 2017: Symposium date in Leuven (BE)

Paper submission

Authors are invited to submit original contributions (written in English), in PDF format, using the submission system and directions available via this webpage link here soon.

Only original papers not published or under review elsewhere can be submitted. Submissions should be in IEEE 2-column style and not exceed 6 pages.

We welcome your contributions and look forward to your participation at IEEE SCVT 2017.


A best student paper award will be given. To qualify for the award, a student has to be the first author of the paper and present the paper himself/herself.

Organizing Committee General chairs

  • Sofie Pollin, University of Leuven

TPC chairs

  • Sofie Pollin, University of Leuven
  • Claude Oestges, Université catholique de Louvain
  • Bruno Quoitin, University of Mons

TPC Members

  • Homayoun Nikookar, Netherlands Defence Academy (NL)
  • Heidi Steendam, Ghent University (BE)
  • Nader Alagha, European Space Technology Centre (NL)
  • Fernando Kuipers, Delft University of Technology (NL)
  • Chris Blondia, University of Antwerp (BE)
  • Joel Grotz, SES (LU)
  • Jan Haagh, Eindhoven University of Technology (NL)
  • Guy Leduc, Université de Liège (BE)
  • Arjan Meijerink, University of Twente (NL)
  • Ingrid Moerman, University of Gent and iMinds (BE)
  • Laurent Schumacher, University of Namur (BE)
  • Bhavani Shankar, University of Luxembourg (LU)
  • Claude Oestges, Université catholique de Louvain (BE)
  • Bruno Quoitin, University of Mons (BE)
  • Mamoun Guenach, Bell Labs (BE)
  • Sébastien Bette, University of Mons (BE)
  • Véronique Moeyaert, University of Mons (BE)
  • Alessandro Chiumento, KU Leuven (BE)
  • Przemek Pawelczak, TU Delft (BE)
  • Bruno Clerckx, Imperial College London (UK)
  • Fernando Rosas, Imperial College London (UK)
  • Evgenii Vinogradov, KU Leuven (BE)
  • Frederik Simoens, Newtec (BE)