IEEE Benelux COM/VT Jt. Chapter


SCVT 2017 Conference Program

SCVT 2017  Conference Program

14th November 2017, Leuven, Belgium



10:00-10:45: Keynote 1

Jan Craninckx: Millimeter-wave CMOS circuits for 5G backhaul and access


10:45-11:00: Poster Fast Forward


Comparison of LoRaWAN Classes and their Power Consumption, Phui San Cheong (University of Antwerp, Belgium); Johan Bergs (University of Antwerp & Imec, Belgium); Chris Hawinkel (Nokia Bell-Labs, Belgium); Jeroen Famaey (University of Antwerp & Imec, Belgium)


Link adaptation in Massive MIMO: throughput-fairness trade-off, Steve Blandino (Imec, Belgium); Claude Desset (IMEC, Belgium); Alessandro Chiumento (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium); Andre Bourdoux (IMEC, Belgium); Liesbet Van der Perre (KUL, Belgium); Sofie Pollin (KU Leuven, Belgium)


Stochastic modeling of IEEE 802.11p output process for efficient V2X large-scale interworking, Fatma Salem (University of Valenciennes, France); Yassin Elhillali (Université De Valenciennes Et Du Hainaut Cambresis, France); Smail Niar (Université de Valenciennes et du Hainaut-Cambr, France)


Dynamic BLE-based fingerprinting for location-aware smart homes, Tom De Schepper (University of Antwerp – imec, Belgium); Alexander Vanhulle (University of Antwerp, Belgium); Steven Latré (University of Antwerp – imec, Belgium)


(invited) On Low Complexity Detection for QAM Isomorphic Constellations, Farbod Kayhan (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)


(invited) Distributed Massive MIMO: A Diversity Combining Method for TDD Reciprocity Calibration, Cheng-Ming Chen (KU Leuven, Belgium); Steve Blandino (Imec, Belgium); Abdo Gaber (National Instrument, Germany); Claude Desset and Andre Bourdoux (IMEC, Belgium); Liesbet Van der Perre (KUL, Belgium); Sofie Pollin (KU Leuven, Belgium)


(invited) Fine integration of priority control and relay selection for fast and reliable inter-vehicle communication, Takuya Mori, Suhua Tang and Sadao Obana (The University of Electro-Communications, Japan)


11:00-12:15: Regular papers


Comparison of coding strategies for a combined multi-Gbps fiber and twisted-pair link, Adriaan Suls and Marc Moeneclaey (Ghent University, Belgium); Yannick Lefevre and Mamoun Guenach (Nokia Bell Labs, Belgium)


Performance Analysis of WMN Routing Protocols for Disaster Networks, Auberlin Paguem Tchinda, Ulrich Trick and Armin Lehmann (Frankfurt University of Applied Sciences, Germany); Bogdan Ghita (Plymouth University, United Kingdom (Great Britain))


RAT Selection Based on Association Probability in 5G Heterogeneous Networks, Behrad Soleymani (University of Tehran, Iran); Amirreza Zamani (Sharif University of Technology, Iran); Seyed Hamed Rastegar and Vahid Shah-Mansouri (University of Tehran, Iran)


From Multipoint Relaying to Chain-Branch-Leaf: Improving the Clustering in OLSR for Vehicular Ad hoc Networks, Lucas Rivoirard (IFSTTAR, COSYS, LEOST & University Lille Nord de France, France); Martine Wahl (IFSTTAR, LEOST & Univ Lille Nord de France, France); Patrick Sondi (Université du Littoral Côte d’Opale, France); Marion Berbineau (IFSTTAR, COSYS & University Lille Nord de France, France); Dominique Gruyer (LIVIC-IFSTTAR, France)


The Application of the Symbolic Aggregate Approximation Algorithm (SAX) to Radio Frequency Fingerprinting of IoT Devices, Gianmarco Baldini (Joint Research Centre – European Commission, Italy); Raimondo Giuliani (EC JRC, Italy); Gary Steri (European Commission Joint Research Centre, Italy); Ignacio Sanchez (EC JRC, Italy); Claudio Gentile (Università degli Studi dell’Insubria, Italy)



12:15-13:30: Lunch with poster session (5 posters)



13:30-14:15: Keynote 2

Bruno Clerckx: “Towards A Signal Theory for Wireless Transmission of Information and Power



14:15-15:45: Invited Papers

Feature Selection for Machine Learning Based Step Counting Algorithms, Stef Vandermeeren and Samuel Van de Velde (Ghent University, Belgium); Herwig Bruneel (Ghent University & Department of Telecommunications and Information Processing, Belgium); Heidi Steendam (Ghent University, Belgium)


Ultra-Narrowband for Energy-Scavenging- Powered Wireless Sensor Networks, MHD Zaher Mahfouz, Arjan Meijerink and Mark J. Bentum (University of Twente, The Netherlands)


Exploring Different Receiver Structures for Radio over FSO Systems with Signal Dependent Noise, Alberto Mengali (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg); Bhavani Shankar Mysore R (Interdisciplinary Centre for Security, Reliability and Trust & University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg); Björn Ottersten (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)


Coexistence of Terrestrial and Aerial Users in Cellular Networks, Mahdi Azari (KU Leuven, Belgium); Fernando Rosas (Imperial College London & Centre of Complexity Science, United Kingdom (Great Britain)); Alessandro Chiumento (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium); Sofie Pollin (KU Leuven, Belgium)


Key Technologies and System Trade-Offs for Detection and Localization of Amateur Drones, Mahdi Azari and Hazem Sallouha (KU Leuven, Belgium); Alessandro Chiumento (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium); Sreeraj Rajendran, Evgenii Vinogradov and Sofie Pollin (KU Leuven, Belgium)


Bluetooth Now or Low Energy: Should BLE Mesh Become a Flooding or Connection Oriented Network?, Yuri Murillo and Brecht Reynders (KU Leuven, Belgium); Alessandro Chiumento (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium); Salman Malik (Televic, Belgium); Pieter Crombez (Televic Health Care NV, Belgium); Sofie Pollin (KU Leuven, Belgium)


15:45-16:00: Coffee break

16:00-17:30: Panel: Fixed wired or fixed wireless access


  • Werner Coomans (Nokia Bell Labs Antwerp)
  • Liesbet Van der Perre (KU Leuven)
  • Julie Neckebroek (Comsof)
  • Jerome Louveaux (UC Louvain)


17:30-18:00: Closing drink and best paper awards.