SPECIAL LECTURE: 17 October 2014 : Design of Sparse Antenna Arrays






Dear All,

Title: Design of Sparse Antenna Arrays

Speaker: Prof. Sanjit Mitra, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, and Univ.
of Southern California

Date: 17 October 2014 (Friday)

Time: 11:00am (tea/coffee at 10:45am)

Venue: Golden Jubilee Hall, ECE Dept., IISc Bangalore

Abstract: In this talk we present a general method for the factorization
of a polynomial with unity coefficients into a product of sparse
polynomials with fewer non-zero coefficients with unity values. The
factorization method is then used to design sparse antenna arrays with
uniform and linearly tapered effective aperture functions.

Bio: Sanjit K. Mitra is a Research Professor in the Department of
Electrical & Computer Engineering, University of California, Santa Barbara
and Professor Emeritus, Ming Hsieh Department of Electrical Engineering,
University of Southern California, Los Angeles.

He has held visiting appointments in Australia, Austria, Brazil, Croatia,
Finland, Germany, India, Japan, Norway, Singapore, Turkey, and the United

Dr. Mitra has published over 700 papers in the areas of analog and digital
signal processing, and image processing. He has also authored and
co-authored twelve books, and holds five patents. He has presented 29
keynote and/or plenary lectures at conferences held in the United States
and 16 countries abroad. Dr. Mitra has served IEEE in various capacities
including service as the President of the IEEE Circuits & Systems Society
in 1986.

Dr. Mitra is the recipient of the 1973 F.E. Terman Award and the 1985 AT&T
Foundation Award of the American Society of Engineering Education; the
1989 Education Award, and the 2000 Mac Van Valkenburg Society Award of the
IEEE Circuits & Systems Society; the Distinguished Senior U.S. Scientist
Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany in 1989; the
1996 Technical Achievement Award, the 2001 Society Award and the 2006
Education Award of the IEEE Signal Processing Society; the IEEE Millennium
Medal in 2000; the McGraw-Hill/Jacob Millman Award of the IEEE Education
Society in 2001; the 2002 Technical Achievement Award and the 2009
Athanasios Papoulis Award of the European Association for Signal
Processing, the 2005 SPIE Technology Achievement Award of the
International Society for Optical Engineers; the University Medal of the
Slovak Technical University, Bratislava, Slovakia in 2005; the 2006 IEEE
James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal; and the 2013 IEEE Gustav Robert
Kirchhoff Award. He is the corecipient of the 2000 Blumlein-Browne-Willans
Premium of the Institution of Electrical Engineers (London) and the 2001
IEEE Transactions on Circuits & Systems for Video Technology Best Paper
Award. He has been awarded Honorary Doctorate degrees from the Tampere
University of Technology, Finland, the Technical University of Bucharest,
Romania, and the Technical University of Iasi, Romania.

He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering, a member of
the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences, an Academician of the
Academy of Finland, a foreign member of the Finnish Academy of Sciences
and Arts, a corresponding member of the Croatian Academy of Sciences and
Arts, and the Academy of Engineering, Mexico, and a Foreign Fellow of the
National Academy of Sciences, India and the Indian National Academy of
Engineering. Dr. Mitra is a Fellow of the IEEE, AAAS, and SPIE.

All are invited

Leave a Reply