Each year the IEEE Albuquerque Section, in collaboration with the UNM Sigma Xi Chapter, recognizes the efforts of its membership to improve the organization and bring merit to our profession.

In previous years, the awards have been presented during the annual banquet. This year, we will not have a banquet due to COVID but we followed the award selection process and we this year’s awardees clearly reflect the spirit of the awards.

We hope that we can resume our in-person annual banquet in 2022 and we will post any news as soon as we progress on our planning.

  • Congratulations to all the awardees for their hard work and dedication:
  • IEEE Outstanding Graduate Engineering Student: Justin Smith
  • IEEE Outstanding Undergraduate Engineering Student: Sara Kathryn LaTouf
  • IEEE Outstanding Young Engineer: Jacob Mueller
  • IEEE Outstanding Engineering Educator: Eirini Tsiroupoulou
  • Sigma Xi Excellence in Graduate Research Award: Easwar Anand Narayanan, UNM Physics & Astronomy
  • Sigma Xi Outstanding Undergraduate Award: Luke Denoyer, UNM Chemical & Biological Engineering
  • Sigma Xi Notworthy Technical Support Person: David Rademacher, Sandia National Laboratories

These awardees will be honored at the virtual awards ceremony, and each will give a short presentation on his/her research. In addition, both the awardees and their nominators will be invited to the in-person awards banquet to be held in May 2022. Sigma Xi awardees will be initiated into the society, with their initiation fees and first year dues compliments of the chapter. They will also be invited to the 2022 awards banquet. Please join us in honoring all these outstanding people.


MONDAY MAY 17 5:00 pm




Thank you,

Gilberto (Treasurer)