IEEE Albuquerque Section


Archive for May, 2018

2018 IEEE Albuquerque Section Awards — Banquet ceremony

Saturday, May 26th, 2018

Each year the IEEE Albuquerque Section, in collaboration with the UNM Sigma Xi Chapter, recognizes the efforts of its membership to improve the organization and bring merit to our profession.

This year’s awards were presented at the annual joint IEEE – Sigma Xi banquet on Monday, May 14th.

Here’s the list of awardees along with pictures of the event.


Albuquerque Section Officers. From the left: Ray Byrne (Vice Chair), Hy Tran (Education activities chair), George Oltman (Life Member), Jason Neely (Chair), Lee Rashkin (Secretary), Gilberto Zamora (Treasurer)

Jason Neely, Section Chair, welcoming attendees

Amir R. Nafchi, 2018 Outstanding Graduate Student (UNM)

Rebecca Kreitinger, 2018 Superior Undergraduate Student (UNM)

Zack Daniels, 2018 Notable Achievement Award (UNM)

Matthew J. Reno, 2018 Outstanding Young Engineer (Sandia National Labs)

David Balata, recipient of the IEEE Albuquerque Section’s UNM Presidential Scholarship.

Emeritus Professor Harjit Alhuwalia (right) and the banquet speaker, astronaut Dr. Harrison H. Schmitt (Left)

Mike Jackovich and Dr. Schmitt

Astronaut Dr. Harrison H. Schmitt, presenting his talk “A Voyage to the Moon on Saturn’s Wings.”

Banquet attendees.


Congratulations to this year’s awardees. We look forward to recognizing a new batch of outstanding IEEE members in 2019.

Gilberto (Treasurer)

March 2018 Section Meeting Minutes

Saturday, May 19th, 2018

he Albuquerque Section of the IEEE meets on the last Tuesday of the month. The meeting is open to any Section member and it is free of charge for students. The meetings take place at Yanni’s on Central, at 11.30am, except for December, June, and July.

If you want to attend or have questions for the Section officers, please contact Gilberto (Treasurer) at

Here are the approved minutes for the March 2018 Section meeting.

Thank you,