IEEE Albuquerque Section


2015 IEEE Albuquerque Section Awards

On May 11th the Albuquerque Section of the IEEE had the pleasure to present its 2015 awards to three exceptional members of our community. The event took place at the UNM Continuing Education building.

Here are some pictures:

Harjit Alhuwalia, past Section Chair, and Master of Ceremonies

Ray Byrne, past Section Chair, and current President of the UNM Chapter of Sigma Xi

Gilberto Zamora, 2015 Section Chair

Mottaleb Hossain, who was presented the award for 2015 Outstanding Graduate Student

Alonzo Vera, who was presented the award for 2015 Outstanding Entrepreneur

Professor Marek Osinski, who was recognized as a new IEEE Fellow

The third award, 2015 Outstanding Young Engineer, was presented to Salvatore Campione, who could not be present at the event. As part of the award Salvatore will give a technical talk to the Section members later this year. His award certificate, and a cash award, will be presented to him at that time. We will post details of the Salvatore’s talk at a later time.

For 2016 we will start the nomination process as early as this fall so we give our Section members more time. Expect the nomination announcement and more award details in the Fall.

Thank you to all members and guests who attended this annual event. And also thank you to the UNM Chapter of Sigma Xi for letting us share the event with them.

Gilberto (Chair)