

---DRAFT---

IEEE Winnipeg Section 2011 Annual General Meeting Minutes

University of Manitoba, Marshal McLuhan Hall (204 University Center), Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, January 13, 2011

Called to Order at 20:12h

- 1) Opening remarks by Lesley McFarlane.
- 2) Motion to approve the Agenda (Andrew Roncin, Sam Kovnats) Carried.
- 3) Motion to approve the 2008 AGM minutes (Shaahin Filizadeh, Witold Kinsner) Carried.
- 4) Motion to approve the 2010 AGM minutes (Witold Kinsner, Dario Schor) Carried.
- 5) 2010 Year in Review (Outgoing Chair Report) by Lesley McFarlane.
 - a. New IEEE Fellow Ani Gole.
 - b. New IEEE Senior Member Shaahin Filizadeh is also incoming chair.
 - c. Ted Glass Awards noted.
 - d. Thesis Winnipeg Section Awards noted.
- 6) Treasurers Report by Lesley McFarlane for Majid Ostradrahini.
 - Motion to accept the treasurer's report as presented. (Len Bateman, Haider Al-Saidi)
 Carried.
 - i. It was noted that PES, and Robotics and Control, and WAVES should be added to the treasurer reports.
 - ii. It was noted that the chapters are required to work with the Section Treasurer in order to have the correct financial information reflected in the treasurer's report.
 - iii. It was noted that it would be good for the section to support both Lakehead University and Red River College Ted Glass continued to be funded.
 - iv. No cash on hand.
 - v. No outstanding expenses.
- 7) Website Update summary presented by Lesley McFarlane.
 - a. Section groups and chapters encouraged to submit information and events to the Section Webmaster.
 - b. It was noted that Dario Schor has done and excellent job on the website and function of the webmaster this year.
- 8) Chapter and Group activities presented by Lesley McFarlane.
 - a. Dr. Ken Ferens has revived Mancom into EduManCom with an exciting new direction for the chapter.
 - b. Robotics and Control is a new chapter created in 2010.
 - The Computer and Computational Intelligence chapter did an outstanding job with 22 events in 2010.
 - d. PES remains very strong within the Section.
 - e. GOLD remains active with 8 events and is now chaired by Sam Kovnats.
 - f. Len Bateman noted that there were two formal events.
 - g. Women In Engineering was very active with CCWESTT in May as well as keeping up with formal WIE events of their own.
- 9) New Section Executive Introduced:
 - Motion to accept the Section Executive as presented. (Sam Kovnats, Witold Kinsner)
 Carried.
 - i. Section Chair: Shaahin Filizadeh.

DRAFT - IEEE Winnipeg Section 2011 Annual General Meeting Minutes - **DRAFT** University of Manitoba, Marshal McLuhan Hall (204 University Center), Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

- ii. Section Vice Chair: Andrew Roncin.
- iii. Treasurer: Majid Ostadrahini.
- iv. Secretary: Jordan Hiebert.
- b. Pin presented to Shaahin Filizadeh.
- 10) Thanks given from Lesley McFarlane to the Section and its executive for their support.
- 11) Chair officially changed over to Shaahin at 20:57.
 - a. Motion to congratulate Lesley McFarlane on a successful year (Ani Gole, Shaahin Filizadeh) Carried.
- 12) Incoming Chair comments by Shaahin Filizadeh.
 - a. Membership Development will be a primary focus for 2011.
 - i. Awareness of IEEE benefits.
 - ii. Elevation of members.
 - b. Electrical Power and Energy Conference (EPEC) to be held in Winnipeg on October 3rd through 5th 2011.
 - i. Will showcase our excellence and technical expertise.
 - ii. Haider Al-Saidi chair of planning committee.
 - iii. Conference theme is "Advanced technologies for emerging power systems".
 - iv. Expected to have 200 attendees.
 - c. Sections Congress occurs in 2011.
 - i. Will send delegates
 - ii. Occurs every three years.
 - d. Move toward Concentration Banking in 2011.
 - i. Business chequing account.
 - ii. Streamlined account management.
 - e. IEEE Extreme Programming Contest awards to students presented.
 - i. Team Bisons20 (Sponsor: Witold Kinsner)

Stefan Penner

Mark Roy

Dario Schor

ii. Team Nerds20 (Sponsor: Ken Ferens)

Liang He

Shuo Dong

Tik Wai Poon (Kiral)

iii. Team DanglingPointers (Sponsor: Behzad Kordi)

Tim Herd

Matthew Connors

Dustin Hildebrandt

iv. Team Matt20 (Sponsor: Athula Rajapakse)

Matthew Sebastian

Matthew Woelk

Troy Denton

v. Team Backslashes20 (Sponsor: Sherif Sherif)

Frank Serafin

Kane Anderson

Pawel Glowack

f. Lindsay Ingram announced as a Ted Glass recipient.

NEXT MEETING:

TBA.