



# IEEE Industry Applications Society Industrial Power Converters Committee (IPCC)

## 2021 Annual Meeting Minutes

### Virtual Meeting

October 30<sup>th</sup>, 2021, 10:00-11:30 am EST (2:00-3:30 pm GMT)

#### **MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE**

Total: 34 members

LAST NAME	FIRST NAME	LAST NAME	FIRST NAME
Arias	Manuel	Oriti	Giovanna
Aware	Mohan	Peterson	Bill
Bifaretti	Stefano	Rossi	Mattia
Briz Del Blanco	Fernando	Scelba	Giacomo
di Benedetto	Marco	She	Xu
Empringham	Lee	Skorek	Adam
Guenther	Robert N.	Solero	Luca
He	Jiangbiao	Suh	Yongsug
Hong	Tianqi	Swamy	Mahesh
Huang	Wenkang	Tedeschi	Elisabetta
ltoh	Junichi	Zanchetta	Pericle
Karamanakos	Petros	Zarri	Luca
Kennel	Ralph	Zhang	Во
Krishnamoorthy	Harish Sarma	Cavagnino	Andrea
Lu	Xiaonan	Jung	Jeehoon
Mattavelli	Paolo	Seok	Jul-Ki
Odhano	Shafiq	Cardoso	Antonio





#### 1. VIRTUAL MEETING BASIC RULES

Due to Pandemic situation of COVID-19, the meeting was held in virtual mode using Webex online meeting platform. Luca Solero, in the role of IPCC Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM (EST). He explained the basic rules of the meeting. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

### 2. <u>APPROVAL OF 2020 COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES AND 2021 COMMITTEE MEETING AGENDA</u>

The approval of the 2020 committee meeting minutes was moved by Xiaonan Lu and seconded by Wenkang Huang.

The approval of the 2021 committee meeting agenda was moved by Mahesh Swamy and seconded by Wenkang Huang.

#### 3. IPCC OFFICERS REPORT

IPCC Chair (Luca Solero) gave a presentation on the following topics. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

- A. Membership status & Becoming an active member
- B. Introduction to IPCC Officers & Subcommittees for 2021
- C. Review on ECCE 2021 (Organizing committee, Paper review process, IPCC participation in the technical activities including paper review work)

(Action) Members are asked to spread the word to friends, colleagues, and students to join IPCC and apply for reviewer, track chair at conferences, technical webinar presenter, and special issue proposals for IAS Journals.

#### 4. REPORTS FROM SUBCOMMITTEES; FELLOW & AWARD NOMINATION

On behalf of IPCC Fellow & Award Nominating Chair (Po-tai Cheng), Robert Guenther gave a presentation on the following award related information including purpose, prize, eligibility, basis for judging, and nomination submission deadline for 2022. The winners of each award as IPCC members have been announced by Luca Solero. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

- A. IAS Andrew W. Smith Outstanding Young Member Achievement Award
- B. IAS Outstanding Young Member Service Award
- C. IAS Distinguished Service Award
- D. IAS Outstanding Achievement Award
- E. Kliman Award





- F. IAS Distinguished Lecturers
- G. IEEE Fellow

(Action) IPCC members are encouraged to submit the fellow and award nomination before the deadline, mostly in March 2022.

#### 5. REPORTS FROM SUBCOMMITTEES; STANDARDS

On behalf of Standards Chair (Lixiang Wei), IPCC Chair (Luca Solero) gave a presentation on the following topic. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

A. Potential IPCC involvement of standards activity

(Action) IPCC members are encouraged to submit the potential standards project proposal (luca.solero@uniroma3.it and xiaonan.lu@ieee.org).

#### 6. REPORTS FROM SUBCOMMITTEES; SPECIAL ACTIVITIES

Special Activities Chair (Wenkang Huang) gave a presentation on the following topics. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

- A. Main purpose & Strategies
- B. IEEE-IAS Webinars
- C. Organizing special session proposals to IEEE Journal of Emerging and Selected Topics in Power Electronics

(Action) IPCC members are encouraged to submit the proposals of webinar and organizing special issues in TIA and JESTPE. Proposals of webinars from industry people are very welcome.

#### 7. PROMOTIONS FOR IAS SPONSORED 2022 CONFERENCES

Special Activities Chair (Wenkang Huang) gave a presentation on the following conferences. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

- A. APEC 2022
- B. IPEC2022 ECCE Asia
- C. ETC.

(Action) IPCC members are encouraged to participate and volunteer in the paper review process of APEC 2022.

#### 8. IAS TRANSACTIONS REPORT





IAS IPCC Paper Review Chair (Pericle Zanchetta) gave a presentation on the following topics. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

- A. IPCC Associate Editors
- B. Statistics on review & publication
- C. IEEE Open Journal of Industry Applications & Its statistics

(Action) IPCC members are encouraged to submit the paper to the Special issue of IEEE Open Journal of Industry Applications. IPCC members are also asked to cite the papers from TIA and Open Journal of Industry Applications.

#### 9. PRIZE PAPER AWARDS FOR ECCE 2020

IPCC Chair (Luca Solero) gave a presentation on the following topics. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

- A. IPCC ECCE 2020 Prize Paper Award Committee & Evaluation process
- B. First, Second, and Third IPCC prize paper award winners

(Action) IPCC members are encouraged to submit the ECCE 2021 paper before December 31<sup>st</sup>, 2021 to be included in the award evaluation.

#### 10. IPCC OFFICERS AND SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS

The following members have been newly appointed to the positions. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

- A. Secretary
  - Wenkang Huang
  - moved by Mahesh Swamy and seconded by Shafiq Odhano
- B. Fellow and Award Nominating Chair
  - Robert Guenther
  - moved by Mahesh Swamy and seconded by Pericle Zanchetta
- C. Standards Chair
  - Lee Empringham
  - moved by Shafiq Odhano and seconded by Stefano Bifaretti
- D. Transactions Review Chair
  - Stefano Bifaretti
  - moved by Pericle Zanchetta and seconded by Mahesh Swamy
- E. Transactions Review Co-Chair
  - Shafiq Odhano
  - moved by Stefano Bifaretti and seconded by Xiaonan Lu
- F. Special Activity Chair
  - Elisabetta Tedeschi





- moved by Pericle Zanchetta and seconded by Xiaonan Lu
- G. Special Activity Co-Chair
  - Tianqi Hong
  - moved by Mahesh Swamy and seconded by Wenkang Huang
- H. European Liaison Officer
  - Petros Karamanakos
  - moved by Elisabetta Tedeschi and seconded by Pericle Zanchetta

#### 11. PLANING OF ECCE 2022

TPC member of ECCE 2022 (Andrea Cavagnino) gave a presentation on the following topics. (...please refer to ppt slides for more information)

- A. Organizing Committee
- B. Conference venue, hotels
- C. Important dates

(Action) Call for Volunteers for Topic Chair & Session Chair: send an email message (first name, last name, email address, and preferred topics) to IPCC Secretary (yongsug.suh@gmail.com) by November 15<sup>th</sup>, 2021.

#### 12. CLOSING REMARKS & MOTION TO ADJOURN

The motion to adjourn the meeting was moved by Mahesh Swamy and seconded by Xiaonan Lu.

Luca Solero, Chair

Xiaonan Lu, Vice-Chair

Yongsug Suh, Secretary

Grant Pitel, Past-Chair