IEEE IAS Electrical Safety Committee William C. Jordan Award

Description

The William C. Jordan Award is the highest honor and most prestigious award bestowed by the Electrical Safety Committee. The Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated long-term, passionate commitment and has made significant contributions to advance electrical safety with distinguished service and leadership in support of the Electrical Safety Committee.

Award Frequency

The Award is not intended to be an annual award. It will be given only at times when it is determined that the award criteria are clearly met or exceeded.

Number of recipients

Only one recipient will receive the award in any given year. The Advisory & Nominations Subcommittee may deviate from this requirement under exceptional circumstances.

The Award

The Award will consist of a plaque bearing the recipient's name and a vase. Recipients will be offered complimentary workshop registration and hotel lodging for the year the award is presented.

Award Criteria

Long-term service and leadership to the Committee with contributions in one or more of the following areas:

- At least ten years of distinguished leadership with passionate commitment to nurture, expand, and sustain the objectives of the Committee.
- Extraordinary service and technical contributions to advance electrical safety in conjunction with the objectives of the Committee. This may include contributions to conferences, standards, publications, and advocacy.
- Three letters of endorsement (in addition to the nominator), with at least two from members of the Advisory & Nominations Subcommittee.

Nomination Process

Any member of the Committee, or any of its subcommittees, is eligible to submit nominations for the Award. Nominees must be a current or past participant of the Committee, or any of its subcommittees. Posthumous and self-nominations will not be considered. Nominations must be submitted to the Awards & Recognition Subcommittee Chair using the Award nomination form. Nomination forms and information related to the Award criteria, selection, and presentation process shall be made available on the Committee website.

Nomination Deadline

The nomination deadline shall be October 1 of each calendar year. The nomination deadline date may be extended at the discretion of the Advisory & Nominations Subcommittee.

Selection Process

The Advisory & Nominations Subcommittee will determine which nominees, if any, meet or exceed the award criteria. In the event there are multiple nominees exceeding the award

criteria, the Advisory & Nominations Subcommittee will determine which nominee will receive the Award.

Presentation Process

The selected recipient will be notified by the Committee Chair in writing. The notification shall be made sufficiently in advance of the annual Electrical Safety Workshop. The recipient will be recognized at the Awards and Recognition Ceremony during the Electrical Safety Workshop. In the event the recipient is not able to attend the Awards and Recognition Ceremony, the plaque will be awarded to the recipient at an alternative event, as appropriate.

Document revision history

- 1) 2008 Initial document, Founders Award
- 2) 2015 Award renamed in memory of William (Bill) C. Jordan
- 3) March 1, 2021 Revised description and award criteria; edited for consistency with other Committee awards
- 4) May 12, 2021 Added clarification regarding posthumous nominations.