Minutes of IEEE COMSOC Optical Networking Technical Committee (ONTC)

OFC 2010, San Diego, California, USA 7:30 p.m. Monday, March 22, 2010 Room 27 B San Diego Convention Center

Attendees:

Byrav Ramamurthy, Josue Kuri, Guangzhi Li, Gangxiang Shen, Hideo Kuwahara, Leonid Kazovsky, Lena Wosinska, Lu Ruan, Arush Gadkar, Chava Vijaya Saradhi, Ashwin Gumaste, Saurabh Mehta, Tamal Das, Fabio Neri, Walter Cerroni, Biswanath Mukherjee, Ioannis Tomkos, Alejandra Beghelli, Massimo Tornatore, Marilet De Andrade, Neo Antoniades, Ferhat Dikbiyik, Avisek Nag, Pulak Chowdhury, Rajesh Roy, Uttam Mandal, Abu Reaz, Dominic Schupke, Eleni Palkopoulou, Ken-ichi Kitayama.

Welcome/Introduction

Dr. Byrav Ramamurthy, ONTC chair, called the meeting to order and welcomed members. Attendees introduced themselves and signed the attendance sheet. The nominated ONTC officers were announced. Dr. Josue Kuri from Infinera was announced as the ONTC Standards Liaison.

Approval of Minutes

Byrav moved to approve the minutes of the ONTC meeting from Globecom 2009; the motion was seconded and carried.

Conference Updates

During the reports on conferences, there was some discussion on submissions and participation in ONS symposia, which is recorded separately after the conference reports below.

OFC 2010

Byrav announced the OFC committee members and chairs. There was a question on the percentage of papers accepted in the optical networking tracks. The acceptance rate was announced to be 30%. There was some discussion on the post-deadline papers among Drs. Ashwin Gumaste, Fabio Neri, Biswanath Mukherjee, Dominic Schupke and Ioannis Tomkos. Ashwin announced that there were 6 submissions from the core networks group for post deadline papers. None of them were accepted. The subcommittee felt that the papers were not up to the mark. Dr. Biswanath Mukherjee expressed the need re-calibrate core networks in order to result in quality papers being accepted in the post-deadline submissions. However, there were 7 papers submitted in the Network experiments session, out of which 3 papers were accepted.

ICC 2010

ICC 2010 would be held on May 23rd-27th, at Capetown, South Africa. The ONS cochairs would be Drs. Mounir Hamdi, Andrea Bianco and Srinivasan Ramasubramanian.

Globecom 2010

To be held in Miami, Florida on December 6th-10th. ONS co-chairs: Dr. George Rouskas, Ahmed Kamal, Filippo Cigini and Jun Zheng. The submission deadline was extended to the 31st of March. As of 22nd March the ONS symposium had received 118 submissions.

ICC 2011 To be held in Kyoto, Japan. Submissions were encouraged. No new updates.

Globecom 2011 To be held in Houston, Texas. Submissions were encouraged. No new updates.

OFC 2011 The OFC 2011 conference will be held in Los Angeles California. Dr. Biswanath Mukherjee (general co-chair for OFC 2011) encouraged members for more submissions.

Other Conferences and Workshops

The fourth IEEE International Conference on Advanced Networking and Telecommunications Systems will be held in Mumbai, India on December 15th-17th. The general co-chairs are: Dr. Rudra Dutta and Dr. Krishna Sivalingam. The deadline for submission is 31st July. The main focus of the conference is core telecommunications networks, and ONTC members are encouraged to submit papers.

ONDM 2011

Dr. Walter Cerroni announced that the ONDM 2011 conference will be held in Bologna, from February 8th to the 11th. The announcement for call for papers will be made soon.

Publications

IEEE/OSA Journal of Optical Communications and Networking Paper submissions from ONTC members are encouraged.

Optical Switching and Networking – Special Issue on Green Communications and Networking

Authors are encouraged to submit their papers. Submission deadline: June 1, 2010.

ONTC PRISM Newsletter

Dr. Ashwin Gumaste gave a short update on PRISM. He encouraged members from the industry to show active participation and also mentioned that there is link for PRISM on the ONTC website.

Other Items

Dr. Lena Wosinska pointed that there is an overlap of the ACP conference with Globecom.

Dr. Fabio Neri expressed that there was no participation from ONTC members at the ECOC conference and encouraged members for active submissions. He also had concerns regarding the ONTC endorsement policy for conference/workshops. Byrav referred to the new ONTC endorsement policy for conferences/workshops and application requirements. The website link is <u>http://committees.comsoc.org/ontc/ontc-endorsement-policy.html</u>. Technical/Financial co-sponsorship is only offered by IEEE Communications Society (and not by ONTC or other TCs).

Dr. Dominic Schupke gave a short presentation on STRONGEST (Future Networks EU FP7 project).

Byrav announced that the new IEEE Comsoc ad-hoc committee on "Smart Grid Communications" was seeking representatives.

ONTC Website

ONTC has a new and improved website designed by Dr. Srinivasan Ramasubramaniam. The website link is <u>http://committees.comsoc.org/ontc/</u>. The ONTC mailing list continues to be <u>ontc@comsoc.org</u>.

Adjournment

Byrav announced that the next ONTC meeting would be held at ICC 2010, in Capetown, South Africa. The meeting was then adjourned.

The minutes were recorded by Arush Gadkar.