Title: Minutes of ONTC Meeting Held at Globecom 2008

Date: December 3, 2008; 12:00pm- 1:30pm

Place: Marlborough B - 2nd Floor, Hilton New Orleans Riverside

Attendees: Jason Jue, Kejie Lu, Naoaki Yamanaka, Qiong Zhang, Yi Zhu, Jing Wu, George Ellinas, Ankit Patel, Angelo Germoni, Guy Omidyar, Nirwan Ansari, Abdaoul Abderrazhir, Tarek El-Bawab, Xiaoming Fu, Brigitte Jaumard, Amr El-Sherif, Salah A. Aly, Mohamed D. A. Mohamed, Ahmed Kamal, Abdallah Shami, Jun Zheng, Mohammad Saleh, Yuhua Chen, Pramode Verma, Qiang Duan, Rentao Gu, Arun Sen, Rudra Dutta, Dominic Schupke

1 Welcome / Introduction

Dr. Jason Jue, the current ONTC chair, introduced the ONTC meeting and gave the opening remarks. Attendees introduced themselves and signed the attendance sheet.

2. Approval of minutes (ICC 2008) (please see attached)

The minutes were unanimously approved.

3. Conference updates

- a) *Globecom 2008:* Rudra reported on the Globecom 2008 Optical Networks and Systems Symposium. The Symposium had 119 paper submissions, out of which 48 were accepted. 36 were selected for oral presentations, and 12 were selected for poster presentations. There was only one no-show for the oral presentations and one no-show for the poster presentations. One paper from the Symposium was nominated and won a best paper award. This paper was entitled "On-Demand Provisioning of Data-Aggregation Requests over WDM Mesh Networks," and was co-authored by D. Andrei, M. Tornatore, D. Ghosal, C. U. Martel, and B. Mukherjee.
- b) *OFC/NFOEC 2009:* Dominic reported on OFC/NFOEC 2009, which will be held in San Diego, CA on March 22-26, 2009. There are three tracks related to networking: Core Networks, Access Networks, and Network Experiments and Non-Telecom Applications. Dominic is Chairing the Core Networks Committee, for which there were 86 submissions. The committee will meet on December 4 to discuss the submissions. The deadline for submitting a postdeadline paper is March 11.
- c) *ICC 2009:* The conference will be held on June 14-18, 2009 in Dresden, Germany. Dominic reported on the ICC 2009 Optical Networks and Systems Symposium. The Symposium received 135 submissions. The target acceptance rate is 1/3.

- d) *Globecom 2009:* Globecom 2009 will be held November 30-December 4 in Honolulu, Hawaii. The paper submission deadline is March 15. There are two symposia relevant to ONTC.
 - (i) Optical Networks and Systems Symposium: Naoaki reported that the TPC members have been invited and the call for papers has been sent out.
 - (ii) Next-Generation Networking and Internet Symposium: Ashwin Gumaste and Nasir Ghani are symposium co-chairs. This symposium will include some topics related to optical networking.
- e) *ICC 2010:* ICC 2010 will be held May 23-27 in Capetown, South Africa. A TPC meeting was held on Dec. 2. Co-chairs have been assigned. The appointment of TPC members is in progress. The paper submission deadline is September 4.
- f) *Globecom 2010:* Globecom 2010 will be held December 5-10 in Miami, FL. The kickoff meeting was held on December 3. The organizing committee and symposia co-chairs will be finalized soon.

4. Other conferences and workshops

- a) *IEEE ANTS 2008:* This conference is fully sponsored by IEEE. It will be held December 15-17, 2008 in Mumbai, India. The venue is IIT Bombay, which is in the northern part of Mumbai. The conference will have a single track and there will be 25 paper presentations/talks.
- b) Other past IEEE technically co-sponsored conferences include ICCCN 2008, BroadNets 2008, and HONET 2008.
- c) Upcoming IEEE technically co-sponsored conferences include ONDM 2009 and HPSR 2009. Naoaki reported on HPSR. The submission deadline for HPSR 2009 will be January 16, 2009. It will be single track, and about 50% of the papers will be related to optical networks.
- d) Other non-IEEE sponsored conferences (or pending approval of IEEE sponsorship) include ECOC 2008, APOC 2008, ICCCN 2009, and BroadNets 2009.
- e) There will be an upcoming conference in Kathmandu, Nepal. IEEE sponsorship is being sought for this conference.
- f) The NSCN workshop will be held with INFOCOM 2009. The deadline will be January 9, 2009.

g) Jason explained the procedure for getting IEEE sponsorship. Conference organizers should submit the application form located on the ComSoc website: http://www.comsoc.org/confs/. The organizers should also coordinate with TCs. There are two types of sponsorship: (a) 100% financial sponsorship; and (b) Technical sponsorship (non-financial). At least three TC representatives should be on the organizing committee. IEEE ComSoc will no longer sponsor events with CreateNet and ICST.

5. Publications

The IEEE JSAC Optical Communication and Networking series (OCN) will become an independent journal in 2009. The journal may be merged with OSA's JON.

6. Standards forums activities (IETF, OIF, ITU/T1, GGF)

IEEE ComSoc has established a standard board to increase IEEE ComSoc involvement in standards activities. Several issues are listed below:

- 1) Each TC is invited to nominate a liaison to the standards board.
- 2) TCs are invited to propose standardization projects.

Dominic reported that there are several standardization activities in ITU and IETF. Hot topics in standardization include the following:

- ITU-T: additional ODU formats (e.g., ODU0 and ODU4), 100GbE DWDM
- IEEE 802.3ba: Higher-speed (40G/100G) Ethernet
- IETF CCAMP: Wavelength Switched Optical Networks (WSON)

Dominic also mentioned that there is a related paper on standards entitled "Optical Transport Network Evolution" in the IEEE Communications Magazine, October 2008 issue.

7. Industry Activities

Dominic reported that industry involvement is increasing. Particularly, in ICC 2009, 18% of the TPC members are from industry, compared to less than 8% for ICC 2008.

8. Distinguished Lecturer Program

Jason explained the IEEE Distinguished Lecturer program. TCs can nominate lecturers. The term is 2 years, and funding is provided for lecture tours. Jason further explained that the main criteria are the reputation of the lecturer and the topics of the lecturer.

For the 2009-2010 distinguished lecturer term, there were a total of 21 nominations, out of which 11 have been approved. The ONTC had nominated Dr. Arun Somani, and this nomination was approved.

9. Web site

The ONTC has a website (http://cse.unl.edu/~byrav/ONTC/). Updates should be sent to the ONTC Online Content Chair (byrav@cse.unl.edu).

ONTC members may submit postings on topics relevant to the optical networking community to ONTC's unmoderated mailing list at ontc@comsoc.org.

10. New Business

None.

11. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned.

Minutes recorded by Kejie Lu