## **IEEE Communications Society**

## Communications Switching and Routing Technical Committee Meeting Minutes held during Globecom'03, San Francisco, CA, USA Tuesday December 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2003 7:00am - 8:30am

Chair: Heiner Stuettgen

The TCCSR bi-annual meeting was held during Globecom2003 on Tuesday 2 December 2003 in Room Pacific A, Marriot Hotel, San Francisco. The meeting started at 7:22am and chaired by the current TC Chair, Dr. Heiner Stuettgen.

- 1. Chair has welcomed the members and then all attendees introduced themselves to the meeting. 10 people attended this meeting: Heiner Stuettgen (TCCSR Chair), Wojciech Kabacinski (TCCSR Vice Chair), Abbas Jamalipour (TCCSR Secretary), Steve Wright (Bell South), Itamar Elhanany (Univ. of Tennessee), Hamid Aghvami (King's College London), Ross Murch (Hong Kong UST), Clara Manders (George Washington University), Nirwan Ansari (NJIT), Algirdas Pakstas (London Metro Univ.), Andrzej Jajszczyk (AGM Univ. of S&T).
- 2. The agenda for the meeting as proposed by the Chair was accepted.
- 3. The minutes from the last meeting held during ICC2003 were distributed and accepted.
- 4. **Reports from other ComSoc board:** The Chair presented a brief report from GICC and there was some discussion about the lack of involvement of some of TCs in ICC and Globecom conferences

## **5.** Conference reports:

- a. Globecom2003: It was reported that 1400 registrations were received for the conference. There was no representative for the conference to answer the question about the TC involvement.
- b. ICC2004: Wojciech Kabacinski reported that about 3000 papers are submitted to ICC2004. A TPC meeting will be held this afternoon. Due to the illness of previous TC Chair, TCCSR had no symposium proposal and involvement in ICC2004.
- c. Globecom2004: Naoaki Yamanaka is the Co-Chair of the Optical Symposium. It was mentioned that due to previous problems the TC involvement in this conference is also limited. Andrzej Jajszczyk is involved in Optical Symposium and Heiner Stuettgen in NGN Symposium.
- d. ICC2005: Heiner Stuettgen reported that he and Abbas Jamalipour proposed a symposium on NGN and mobile networking, and they will be the co-chair for this symposium. Byeong Gi Lee is the TPC Chair. Also after merging our symposium with other proposed symposiums, Nelson Fonseca and Raouf Boutaba are also co-chairs of this symposium. Heiner mentioned that updated information will be distributed among active TC members.
- e. HPSR2003: Marco Ajmone Marsan, the conference Chair, was not in the meeting. The conference report was presented briefly by the Chair.
- f. HPSR2004: Hussein Mouftah and Larry Xue, conference chairs, were not in the meeting to present their report. A report received from Larry Xue was presented

- by the Chair. HPSR2004 will be held in Tempe, Arizona, 18-21 April 2004; technically endorsed by ComSoc; 121 papers were submitted and 54 papers to be accepted. Reviews are due Jan. 9<sup>th</sup>, 2004 and decisions will be sent by Jan 25<sup>th</sup>. The final paper is due Feb 16, 2004, and the conference proceedings will go to print on March 8<sup>th</sup>, 2004 (<a href="http://hpr2004.asu.edu">http://hpr2004.asu.edu</a>). \$2000 sponsorship from the Consortium for Embedded Systems and Internetworking is received.
- g. HPSR2005: The Chair presented that the original proposal from G.S. Kuo for China was withdrawn. Currently Monir Hamdi accepted to arrange this conference in Hong Kong, with the help of Abbas Jamalipour and Nirwan Ansari as the TPC Co-Chairs.
- h. HPSR2006: There is a proposal for this conference from Wojciech Kabacinski.
- i. IPOM2003-2004: IPOM was held in Kansas City. TCCSR has lost its contact with this conference.
- 6. **TC Web page:** The Chair explained the new format of the TCCSR web page and showed it on the screen. TC members were asked to send information to update the page to the TC Vice Chair, Wojciech Kabacinski. All feedbacks to make the web page more useful and better than its current format are welcome. The Chair mentioned some of TC members who have been recently appointed as ComSoc officers and editors, including G.S. Kuo (Area Director for Trans. Communications), Andrzej Jajszczyk (Director of Magazines, 2004), and Heiner Stuettgen (Member-at-Large elected 2004).
- 7. **Magazine activities:** Itamar Elhanany agreed to liaison with IEEE and other institute for publications.
- 8. Collaborations with other TCs: The Chair raised the issue of overlap between TCCSR and some other ComSoc TCs, including optical communications TC, Communication Quality and Reliability TC, Personal Communications TC, Computer Communications TC, as well as software and network management, and multimedia TCs. It was requested that some of members provide a report on possible collaborations with those TCs: Andrzej Jajszczyk (Optical), Steve Wright (Multimedia), Abbas Jamalipour (Communication Quality and Reliability), Itamar Elhanany (Communications System Integration and Modeling). It was agreed that these people to send their reports to the TC Secretary and to be included in the minutes.
- 9. Any Other Business: Hamid Aghvami presented that PIMRC2004 welcomes proposals for sessions at higher layers for next year (2004) to be held in Barcelona, Spain. The Chair suggested that this request be included in the TC mailing list.
- 10. Meeting adjourned at 8:05am.

Minutes are prepared by Abbas Jamalipour, TCCSR Secretary.